House-sitting & Volunteering Off-Grid in Matarranya, Aragon, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 690 times
  • Last activity: 25/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Axel (Dutch) and Sandrine (from Belgium), and we moved to Spain to live a simple life - working for ourselves, growing our own food, spending more time doing meaningful or fun things.

    Our property is 3,65 hectares (9 acres) with about 50 olive trees, 200 almond trees, and a few other fruit & nut trees. We have 2 alpacas, a dog, a cat, a bunch of chickens, and a veggie garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're happy to share our skills, knowledge and experience with you, and hope for the same in return.

    Axel has worked in sound, light and climate control - both technical and sales automation.
    He likes building (both traditional building with stones from the land, and carpentry) and is into the technical side of living off the grid (alternative power and such).

    I (Sandrine) run my own online marketing agency from home (online). I love helping small business owners and digital nomads in their business ventures.
    I love cooking and baking with local and seasonal produce and have a permaculture design certificate.

    We love to share what we know with our guests, and hope to learn many things from you as well. Especially new recipes!

    We speak Dutch / Flemish with each other, but are happy to speak English when others are around. We both speak some Spanish, usually only when we go out to town though. I speak French (Axel doesn't, which is why I write in English even to French-speaking people) - Axel speaks some German and likes to learn bits of other languages. 

    If you come to house-sit:
    This is not a community-style arrangement where we spend every day together, eat together, go away together; if you come to live here for a while, you have your own life and we have ours. You can come and go as you like, we'd only expect you to stay here when we're away (we're usually pretty flexible on the dates).

    That being said, there are also regular opportunities to do stuff together - from alpaca shearing and pruning trees in spring to almond and olive harvest later in the year... and hopefully barbeques and drinks with friends over the summer!

    If you come to help out on a specific project:
    If you come to help out just for a week or two (e.g. for almond/olive harvest or building something), we will likely work hard for a couple of days - then have a couple of days off. During "working" days, we make sure there are snacks/food and fruit during work + a full meal (either for lunch or at the end of the working day, depending on the season). On off days, we tend to keep to ourselves but do provide you with everything you need to make your own meals.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    THIS IS FOR YOU IF
    - You have a positive attitude and hands-on mentality, you're not afraid to get your hands (and feet) dirty, and you would like to experience off-grid life - and maybe start a project of your own one day
    - You’re not afraid to speak your mind, ask questions and communicate in a positive and open way.
    - You speak either English, Dutch or Spanish fluently. We find it difficult to communicate about work and safety if there isn’t at least a language in common.
    - You are respectful of other people's property and clean up after yourself

    ************

    Please be aware that we're 7 minutes by car from the nearest village - this is not a place to come if you want to be around people or need a vibrant nightlife. To get around, you need a car (non-negotiable) in case of emergencies.

    Unfortunately, we can't accept volunteers with pets of their own (we'd love to, but past experiences have been less than ideal - it's not your dog, it's our dog + chickens + alpacas ;-))

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd have EITHER your own tiny house with its own access and solar system; our "maset", the restored stable we lived in before our house was built. It's 2 terraces downhill from our house so it's completely private.
    The maset is perfect for 1-2 people - but we have had people bring their own bell tent or van for a longer stay as well.

    OR you'd stay in our regular guest rooms (our house was built as a bed & breakfast), with en-suite bathroom. If you come alone, you may share this with another volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are between Lledo and Cretas, in Aragon - close to Catalunya, and about 2 hours by car from Barcelona airport.

    There are plenty of things to do around here if you like nature: hiking in the national park (or in the hills around here), cycle the Via Verde, or visit the local villages and castles. There’s ibex, vultures and other wildlife. In the nearby village of Cretas, you can rent bikes or book a more adventurous way of exploring Els Sports: kayaking, horseback riding, climbing, “multi-adventure”. 
    This is not the place for you if you need a vibrant nightlife.

    We believe good (two-sided) communication is key to you having a good stay here.

    When applying, please mention
    - What languages you speak
    - If you're not travelling alone - names and ages of everyone in your party
    - Your mode of transportation
    - When you'll be (or won't be) available

    (about 90% of people who contact us haven't read all of our profile, and don't bother answering these questions. Please take the time to do this, so you know what you're applying for - and we know you've read this :-))

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I used to be a digital nomad myself, and now run my own online marketing business from home. We've got a solid internet connection + good wifi connection in the guest living room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Access to our property can be a little more challenging in winter or when it's just rained, but we've got a couple of great parking spots with amazing views on the property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Host ref number: 425112938112

Feedback (26)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)