Be part of our family and help with little projects in the house and cooking/cleaning on Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 245 times
  • Last activity: 18/01/2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are a family of seven living on beautiful Bowen Island, very close to Vancouver (20-minute ferry trip and then a 30-minute bus to downtown). My husband (from Belgium), Lieven, is self-employed and is working in the field of sustainability, regional development, leadership and change management. I (from The Netherlands), Judith, have a background in business and coaching and my passion now is in health & well-being for individuals, families and the planet. We have one adolescent Tim (24), and two teens, Nubi (17) and Noah (16), who are very independent. Tim works on the island and loves the outdoors. Nubi loves horseback riding on her horse. Noah is very sportive and social. We also have a 12-year old twin, Pai and Turo. Pai is very creative and loves to take care of younger kids. Turo loves the outdoors, reading and his computer. Our family description is complete by mentioning our Leonberger dog Suki, our Australian shepherd puppy Willow, our horse Rayne, our Rabbit Ritchie, and cat Pippi Longstocking.

    In 2018, we moved from Belgium to Bowen Island because of its beautiful nature, its sense of community and so closeby a lively city. Bowen Island is a special community to visit because it is SO BEAUTIFUL, and special in that it really feels like a village. It has about 3500 full-time residents, and many of them are young families. The beaches are quiet, the wildlife is stunning (deer, seals, sea lions, whales, eagles) and the forests are old-growth with huge trees. It's quiet but you also have coffee shops and restaurants and a bit of local art, a music scene and yoga/meditation offerings. Bowen residents sometimes feel as if we are living in one of these areas best-kept secrets...

    Bowen Island is situated off the Sea-to-Sky highway between Vancouver and Whistler, a major ski destination. There are also many ski mountains on the north shore of Vancouver, readily accessible by bus from Horseshoe Bay (which is where the ferry from Bowen docks in West Vancouver). There are ferries from Horseshoe Bay to Vancouver Island and the Sunshine Coast, so this is a great leaping off point to explore some of the most beautiful areas of the lower mainland of British Columbia. The weather in this area is glorious in the summer and fall months (May—October)—sunny, dry, temperate—and wet and rainy through the winter months (November—April). The good news about weather in the winter is that it is mild (usually above 0 degrees, hovering around 5-10 degrees), and therefore everything stays green even in the thick of winter. There are snowcapped mountains all around us, though. It's beautiful all year round.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This exchange would be about nature, family and community. The three values that lead us to move to Bowen Island. The nature is very special here on Bowen and we try to enjoy it every day in different ways (going on trails with our dog and our horse, going out in the ocean with our kayaks or by swimming in it, hiking up Mnt Gardner). We try to parent our kids very consciously and family time is very precious to us, it would be an honour if you can be part of this. Being part of a community is a way to feel connected, supported and grow and we are happy to connect you with all kinds of people in our community.

    We are a Dutch/Belgium family living in a very specific Canadian community which is a nice base for learning. We also really appreciate local food and healthy cooking and snuggling down as a family with music, movies, books, and good food and drink. :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    During the summer we would love you to spend some time with the twin, enjoying activities with them inside (creative projects, baking, board games, educational learning projects) and outside (going to the beach, hiking adventures, playing in the garden).

    In addition, we ask for help with cooking dinners (mostly vegetarian—though some of our kids eat meat /fish so we are not opposed to having meat cooked in the house), laundry, and some general cleaning and tidying.

    For this summer we would love someone who also could help us with some computer stuff.

    We will come up with a regular, though generally very flexible schedule for you so that you can plan other activities around it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We live in a 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house near the Cove (the little village with shops and restaurants) with a garden. From our house, you can walk on trails to several beaches. We will provide you with a room and board (food included). You will be invited to make yourself feel at home here!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In summer, Bowen Island is a paradise for travellers/tourists. The Bowen Island website provides much information on what the community has to offer and would be worth visiting.

    On your time off, you can walk the trails of Bowen, spend time on beaches, hang out at coffee shops, or travel to Vancouver or the coastal mountains that surround it for the day. You can also use this as a jumping-off point for trips north to Squamish, Whistler, Pemberton, the Sunshine Coast, Vancouver Island, etc. On the North Shore of Vancouver, which we are very close to, you can visit the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Lynn Valley, hike the famous Grouse Grind for amazing views of the city, and explore an infinite array of trail systems.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 171824926776

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Enjoy the remote wilderness at a fishing and hunting resort in Northwestern Ontario, Canada
Help in our community garden in the Cowichan Valley, near Vancouver, Canada