Help Wanted on our Small Farm North of Toronto, Canada




Favourited 64 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Our 27 acre farm is situated an hour's drive north of Toronto, Ontario, Canada. My husband and I have 3 horses, 4 beehives, 1 dog (a giant Great Pyrenees 1 year old) and 2 house cats. We have no children at home. In the summer we have a large vegetable garden and although we are not a certified organic farm, we follow the general principles and use no pesticides or chemical fertilizers. In summer we do most of our work with the bees, harvesting honey in July or September. 18 acres of the property is dedicated to growing hay, which is harvested and baled in late June. The barn and house required many renovations in the 8 years that we have been here and are ongoing.

    Our daily routine includes feeding horses, manure removal, watering, and training. The horses are all Paso Finos, - a small gaited breed from Puerto Rico and Colombia. They are very gentle. Although the Workaway guests will be caring for the horses, they will not be riding them.

    My husband speaks english and french, and I speak a little french and a small bit of german.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm sits on the Niagara Escarpment in Mono, Ontario, which is designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We are on a quiet, dead end dirt road, close to endless hiking trails, the Bruce Trail, Mono Cliffs Park and Boyne Valley. There are many varieties of birds, frogs, snakes (non-poisonous) and turtles here, as well as deer and coyotes. You can learn how to work with horses and bees. We use positive reinforcement training with the horses, and natural principles of beekeeping.

  • Help


    We are looking for a variety of services, people with some muscle to do general farm labour, light housecleaning, gardening, machine maintenance, yard maintenance, tree planting in spring, and animal care. We are willing to train people in some areas if you have good skills in others.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french, some german

  • Accommodation


    Our guest room is clean and large, with a queen size bed, overlooking the horse pasture, and the bathroom is newly renovated and quite lovely, with a shower and a tub. You will be living in the house, and will have access to television, and some Internet - we are on Satellite service and data is expensive. I usually cook vegetarian meals, my husband does eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 11 minutes from the nearest small town (Shelburne) and an hour's drive to Toronto. We would be willing to take you to transit so that you can visit the city if you wish. If you fly into Pearson International Airport, we will pick you up and drive you to the farm, 1 hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 424237449839