Come and help on our ship project in Vestmanna, Faroe islands

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5. Me (40), my husband (48), our oldest son (17), daughter (14), youngest son (6).
    We live in a small village with 1300 inhabitants called Vestmanna in the Faroe Islands. I work within the shipping business and my husband runs his own charter fishing boat from our village. Our boat is a 42 feet big wooden boat and has been in our family for the last 20 years. My husband runs the boat him self and is fishing with tourists almost everyday from the mid of May to the end of September.
    We live in a smaller house with a quite big garden of 600 square meter. We have a small cottage in our backyard, that you will be staying at. Our house is located in the centre of Vestmanna, right down to the sea with the local church as our neighbour to one side.

    We would like help this summer from a shipwright, because our wooden boat has got a damage. Its an estimated work of 3 weeks, and you are welcome to take all 3 or what suits your plan. The husband is a keen craftsman, so he has got all tools to work on the boat. Will send some pictures of the damage.
    We are renting the cottage to tourist, so your inquiry must fit in with the availabity

    You will live in our cottage, a 22 sqm, suitable for two, with facilities such as kitchen, bathroom with a shower, Wi-Fi and television. So its as private as it can get.

    From Vestmanna you can do a boattrip to the beautiful birdcliffs or visit the fantastic small island of Mykines, where you can hike and enjoy the fantastic birdlife and beautiful nature. You also have a lot of hiking oppurtunities all around our village. We have a car that you can use in your free time. This is the perfect way to get around our fantastic islands and we have a lot of beutiful places for you to visit and enjoy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience staying with a friendly and open family. We are interessted in knowing your culture as well as you will get an insight into traditional Faroese culture and food. We like enjoying the Faroese nature both on land and from the sea. You will have the oppurtunity to join us for as many fishingtrips as you like :)

    We have a car that you can use in your free time and like this you can get around the islands and experience our nature. We will gladly help and guide you, with youre leisure time activity.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a shipwright to help us repair a storm damage we got this winther, The boat is a 42 feet pinewood built in Norway in 1962.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Faroese: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small cottage in our backyard, that will be your place while staying with us. The cottage has a small livingroom with a sofa, TV, Wi-Fi and table for two. Small kitchen with all facilities. Bathroom with a shower. The sleepingarea is in the loft with a doublebed. Since we are renting the cottage, your enquiry will need to fit in with the availabilty this summer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Vestmanna we have a local café/pub, where you can enjoy a good meal and drink. Also we have a saga museum at the tourist office and a restaurant as well. The surrounding here are beautiful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, or 8 hours in 3 days, and the rest is off.

Host ref number: 422493276651

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help a single mom with daily life in Tórshavn, the capital of Faroe Islands
Help out around our family home in Tórshavn in the Faroe Islands