Help around the house, walk our dogs and maybe do some babysitting in Tórshavn, Faroe Islands

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four with two fur babies, living in the Faroe Islands. My name is Laila, I am 25 years old, my fiancé Fróði is 30 and our sons Esekiel (4 years old) and Jeremias (1 year old). I just started my 3rd year of my bachelor in teaching. I attend classes three days a week at the University here in Tórshavn (the capital). Fróði works in shifts in Denmark, and travels back and forth for work (3 weeks in Denmark and 3 weeks home). This is when the help is most needed, but there is always room for some help!
    We love to explore and spend our freetime traveling around the Faroe Islands, making memories with our boys and spending time with family and friends. We are a very open family, with lots of energy and love being with and getting to know people. I lived in Texas for a year as an exchange student when I was 16 years old, which means I know a bit about what it’s like to live with strangers and how it’s like wanting to learn and be a part, but also needing your space at times.
    The main help needed is helping with walking the dogs, vacuuming, some light cleaning, washing clothes, maybe some babysitting etc. we also do this to get to know new people, and to teach our boys about different people, cultures and languages. We have hosted 7 people this summer and have loved every second, it’s lovely to host and meet so many different types and learn about our differences and similarities. We are not finished hosting yet and would love to meet more people!

    If you have any questions feel free to message!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Faroe Islands is rich with beautiful nature and unique in every way. There are lots of opportunities for great hikes, good food and special experiences. With only 50.000 people living in the country, you can be sure to experience a different culture where everyone knows everyone. We love exploring our own country, seeing new places, try new things and would love to bring you along, when possible.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Normal household cleaning and maintenance. Walking the dogs, vacuuming, washing floors, windows, light cleaning, washing and folding clothes, maybe some babysitting. In general nothing major. Being a part of the everyday life, routine and household.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Faroese: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Norwegian: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Icelandic: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I study to become a teacher and know a few languages, so I would be able to teach some of them, if you’re interested.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a house with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open kitchen/livingroom and some more. You would have your own bedroom with a bed, closet and a desk. There are two bathrooms, but only one shower, which we would have to share. Food is always available and you should feel free to eat whenever. We usually eat dinner together as a family around 17:30 and you would be welcome to join. We are not vegans and because groceries are expensive here, it would be easier if you weren’t either.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Tórshavn, the capital of the Faroe Islands. There are many opportunities for shopping, restaurants, bars, cafes and others. There is a grocery store 3 minutes away on foot and the buses are free, that can take you around the capital.

    The weather in the Faroe Islands can be challenging, so you can always expect some fog, wind, rain and even snow. We’re known for having all four seasons in one day and this is also relevant during the summer! So be prepared for some different weather and bring your boots and raincoat, but other than that the country never seems to disappoint, it’s always beautiful and the waterfalls are bigger in rainy weather!

    We live our everyday life and would like you to do the same and feel like home. We have our rutines, but are very flexible and spontaneous (well at least I am).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 313686935612

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Come and live in the beautiful sceneries, with ocean view surrounded by mountains in the Faroe Islands
Help welcome in and around our family home in Torshavn, Faroe Islands