Come and help out in our happy little homestead in Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    148

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 29 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Joe (31) and Jen (42) - an English couple living in rural Hungary in an attempt to escape the rat race and become as self-sufficient as possible. We live in a small home with a decent sized garden in which we grow as much food as we can to last the year. We love eating, so cooking and meal preparation take up a good part of our day. One of our main aims is to grow and create some great tasting and nutritious food - we make our own bread, cakes, biscuits, pasta, soups, etc. We have a couple of chickens, cats and our lovely friendly dog Penfold - we did have goats and rabbits but weren't so keen on the killing side of things, so are now both vegans. We live a simple, seasonal, stress-free, outdoor life in touch with nature as much as possible. We enjoy travelling, cycling, walking, yoga, meditation and meeting new people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Joe has a degree in horticulture and we both use permaculture techniques in our daily lives to be as light a touch on the environment as possible. We keep things as natural as possible and really enjoy our time feeling close to our little plot of land. Depending on your skills you might pick up some gardening tips, but also ideas on how to grow, preserve and cook some great vegan food. We've lived and travelled around the world and would love to share stories with whoever came to stay with us, and we look forward to learning new things from our guests too!

  • Help

    Help

    Help might include general garden chores such as planting, weeding, mowing grass and harvesting produce. At certain times of year we'll be preserving our produce, so will need help picking/podding/stoning and turning things into jams, wine, passata and other interesting things. In the house, we might have some general cleaning and maintenance jobs, perhaps a little painting. Some baking and cooking could be helpful too, but hopefully, we'd all chip in together. We walk our dog daily, but I'm sure he'd be up for some extra walks if that's your thing! Although we can be flexible, we suggest stays with us of about a week at a time just because we're a small homestead and may occasionally be low on the more interesting type of tasks... but send us a message and we can chat about your expectations. 😊

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, plus small amounts of Hungarian, French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a little shed that we call the 'tiny house' which sleeps two but does not have electricity - you'd share the one bathroom in the house and the outdoor composting loo. Things are simple around here - we don't have a lot of hot water and we have no washing machine, fridge or many 'appliances' but we think you'll appreciate the simplicity of everything and we'll do our best to make you feel at home! We have electricity for recharging devices and we have wifi. You would be welcome to eat with us three homegrown, home cooked, vegan meals a day, but there is a great bakery close by and a few small grocery shops if you need anything else.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're in a rural location in a fairly small quiet village, but we have warm sunny summers that are full of fresh air, yummy produce and beautiful scenery. It's a great opportunity to sit in the hammock, read, write or sketch and relax. There are plenty of local walks which we're happy to show you. Large shops are a 20-minute drive away, with larger cities like Siofok and Szekesfehervar about 45 minutes drive. It's about a half hour drive to the warm waters of Lake Balaton. Train services are good across Hungary and we are happy to pick up and drop off at our local stations of either Sarbogard or Simontornya so you can explore further afield if you would like to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 421591861993