Help needed in eco-farm/community in the making in Serra da Estrela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow free spirits! My name is Sara (29 portuguese) and I am running a quinta (farm) and eco-community in the making together with my partner, Steffen (31 german), at the foothills of Serra da Estrela natural Park, the biggest one in Portugal and featuring also the highest mountain in the country.
    Tir na Sí is the name of the project, and it's 1,5 hectares (circa 4 acres) in a beautiful valley with scattered abandoned ruins, with a stream running all year long, lots of shade in the summer, beautiful views to the mountains, close to historical villages, castles, lakes, river beaches, and the list goes on...
    I'm glad I have decided early enough that I wanted to create a life for myself that inspires me rather than one that consumes me, and to escape the endless cycle of working - paying rent. I aim to create my own little world and take steps towards reducing my impact on this planet, to live a more meaninful life in harmony with the ecosystem around me and build my dream home and gardens, surrounded by other happy free people.
    I am now going into my second season and I am very happy with what has already happened in the short time I have been here. A lot of people came, lived here, visited, volunteered, built, put their energy into the project and left their mark and personality in different corners of the land.
    I have built my beautiful home, a 6 meter solid wall yurt. We have an outdoor community kitchen (slowly being turned into a more indoor than outdoor now with the winter arriving) with hot water in the sink, compost toilets and shower area (we have a camping shower with a pump that can be filled with hot water) community gardens, lots of animals - 3 donkeys, a dog, two cats, chickens and ducks. Not to mention the bees ( there are several bee hives at Tir na Sí).
    There are lots of things that need to be done on the land, from building (mainly wood, stone or other natural materials), to collecting and chopping wood, gardening, moving the donkeys around the pasture, cleaning the donkeys stables, general farm work. There is always a big to-do list, and I try to assign the right job to the right person, but I have preference for experienced builders (especially with wood, cob, stone or other natural materials), carpenters, handy people. I also often need farm-sitters as I need to be away from time to time, either with work or leisure, so that also means I have preference for long-term volunteers, but open to anything from one week onwards :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My big goal for this year is to keep the energies positive and high in this beautiful piece of land, raise the vibration on this point of the earth, and attract beautiful people here. I hope this will be a place where you can have many new experiences, meet new people, and leave with lots of stories to tell.
    Since I am portuguese, I can share my knowledge of the country and language, which might be helpful in your travels through Portugal. Other interests I have that you could expect to hear me talk about: foraging, permaculture and gardening, mushrooms (yes, mushrooms!), animals, Ireland (my home for 4 years), everything irish, including the harp (I play, or try to), druidism and nature spirituality, plant medicine, the universe, the moon, the meaning of life, etc! I am a very specific person, that collected specific experiences in this life, hopefully with one or two things to share with the next person :)
    I can also advice nice places to visit in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    The main jobs right now are as follow:
    Gardening
    Feeding and taking care of the animals
    General farm and land work (maintaining terrace walls, digging the levada - irrigation system that consists of a ditch to divert water from the river with a dam)
    Lots of building (mainly wood) for the right volunteer :)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation may vary throughout the year, and will be discussed before arrival. Depending on the weather and on the availability, could either be a tent, a caravan, or a campervan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    Nearest village is 1,5 km away

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4h, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 421183386715