Help a spontaneous community to become an organized one in Asti, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 207 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1068

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    "The secret is not to take care of the butterflies , but take care of the garden , so the butterflies come to you .
    At the end there is not who you were looking for, but who was looking for you."

    I come back from a trip in south Italy and Sicily.
    I collected ideas and inspiration, new energies.

    In DECEMBER I will be free from family commitments from 26th and stay home till 20 January 2022
    SO I WILL NEED HELP:

    - in small RAINBOW apartment downstairs:
    > installing a wood stove
    >scratching + painting walls in some areas affected by humidity
    >cleaning everything

    - in big apartment upstairs:
    >cleaning windows, kitchen and bathrooms

    - Outside:
    > brooming, removing and moving leaves to composter,
    >painting a garage iron door
    Any other work or reparation needed.

    I will travel again hopefully from end of JANUARY and come back by the end of March.
    - Then I will start planting vegetables in small areas and big pots.
    - Welcome Workawayers experienced in what I listed above
    - As the weather will still be cold, I count spending time inside in creative activities : available many beads and broken necklaces to create new jewels, second hand clothes and fabric to recycle.
    - Welcome musicians and theater lovers

    LAST EVENT PLANNED WAS SWAP PARTY ON SUNDAY 3 OCTOBER 01 d.C.
    By chance, our friends of Sciallo (social center in town) had planned similar event in the same date, so we decided to move there and collaborate. It was very successful and funny.
    Next event will be probably END OF DECEMBER or beginning JANUARY to swap useless presents and other stuff.

    The Swap Parties were monthly meetings that were held at home a few years ago. The idea was to exchange ideas, collaboration, food, second hand clothes, objects, tools ... ..
    I thought about resuming them now that it is even clearer how important it is to collaborate and network to survive in this world that we have made more and more difficult.

    >>> . I WILL UPDATE MY CALENDAR From December o2021
    AT PRESENT not only LOOKING FOR PEOPLE SKILLED but people that LIKE doing.
    . Not just theoretical, REAL HELP 😉
    WELCOME ALSO : electricians, plumbers, woodworkers, painters.

    What we did last months:
    AUGUST/SEPTEMBER I was home. The idea was to improve as much as possible spaces available to share, organize materials, prepare for winter (TRAVELING October/November)
    Events were funny but too much concurrence because of lockdown and money raised is not worthy. Much more interesting the contacts created till now 😉

    7/8>15/8 spent a working week with Tom and Domenico. We arranged many parts of the property and organized events during weekends. Working was hard because super hot here but events were funny and we met and created relationships with many new people. Thankful and grateful for that 😀🙏🏽🌈

    9/5/2021 First event of the new era: “CAMBIAMO ARGOMENTO?” Enough speaking about pandemic. We have ideas and projects to share. Connecting people and finding collaboration. Sharing values.
    .

    This place has all the qualities for creating a self sustainable community.

    But where to start from with little money? How to organize people living here?
    How to share a common philosophy?
    How to find valid collaborations?

    I WILL GIVE PRIORITY TO WA WITH PROVED SKILLS. Sorry but, by experience, I prefer people used to and able to work in team but also independently.
    Exceeding use of alcohol and / or other addictions are not suitable as interfering too much with work.
    I CAN OFFER ACCOMODATION and FOOD FOR AROUND ONE/TWO WEEKS to one/two wa at a time .
    From Asti you can reach Torino, Milano, Genova in half/one hour by train.


    i can help you to find timetables online when you're sure to come and tell me from where/when you arrive.
    IF YOU ARRIVE AT THE STATION JUST CALL ME AND I pick you BY CAR.

    Ours is a large house built by my great-grandmother around 1900.

    From 1997 I came back here and the house has changed many inhabitants.
    At present an informal community: my sister living next door, Giuseppe the barman and the staff of the cafè nearby, neighbours on a farm sharing same yard and my mum living next door+ friends and wa passing by and some animals.
    i escape cold months to work in wa me too or visiting friends. I grab ideas during my trips and bring them home
    I have been a host for many years... trying to select people with good energy,
    I used to show my guests the wonders of our land or to suggest events or concert. Now unfortunately mostly online.
    I prefer working with music: reggae, hip hop, blues, soul, african, funky, ... IF YOU DON'T LIKE CAN BE ANNOYING

    -I try to reduce as much as possible consumption of water and electricity because it’s expensive and I don’t like waste.

    - I organized items for swapping and second hand markets , also available for workawayers (clothes, books, bags, tools,..) .

    We could start again planning events in Spring as alternative to Covid limitations.
    - i have a bike available but we move quite easily in all directions following paths in meadows and woods or using buses stopping in front of the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love cooking and learning new recipes. I eat quite everything . mostly vegetables, pasta, fruit , cereals . I don't like meat but if it comes as present from a friend I accept and share with guests. If you like to drink a glass of red wine, our area has very good ones.
    i'm a smoker. but i do only out of the house.

  • Help

    Help

    I’m retired from September ‘21 so my habits are changing a bit.
    My plans are to travel more using Workaway or visiting friends.
    But at the same time I must take care of the house so I will come back from time to time.
    Spending here some months and hosting Workawayers.
    The idea is to do as much as possible when I’m here and the help of a workawayer could be precious.
    Heavy works or cleaning deeply take time. Moreover working together is fun while working alone is a boring task.

    Useful a driving licence or a bike if you like exploring paths.
    Welcome awareness, humour, aesthetic and practical sense.

    I’m improving my relationships with my neighbours, with theStaff of bar/restaurant next door, my sister and with my mother living in front.
    Through my example they started understanding Workaway philosophy so workers’ presence is testimonial of its values.

    They don't speak much other languages, but sometimes need help, so good relationships with them are important and we can get friendship, food and gratitude in exchange.

    I offer to workawayers good food mostly vegetarian.

    In the evenings (if we're not too tired) and sometimes in weekends (because i'm a human being and need to stop from time to time ) we could explore together places in the surroundings,, listen to music, watch videos, chat, visit friends,...
    Sea, mountains and big towns as Torino, Genova, Milano are 1-2 hours away so visits are possible
    COVID limitations reduces a lot opportunities for cultural activities but it’s still possible to see beauties around ( romanic churches, castles, little villages) and the valley I live is still very woody with well organized pathways for mountain biking and trekking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My son now works abroad and comes home just a few weeks. So his room is available and a private bathroom as well.
    the house is 150 sm so privacy is possible. we share the kitchen, a studio with a double couchbed, a terrace.
    Downstairs there is a small flat with basic kitchen, bathroom and double bedroom. No heathing system but hot water available. It could be useful for a couple or someone staying longterm April/October or needing more privacy. But I can’t offer residence and need contribution for electricity and water consumption.
    Also possible to plant in the ex vegetable garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In autumn and spring I put thermostats low opening windows in the morning to let the sun in.
    If you need more warmth , better considering other places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our connection is good. You can live independently in the studio downstairs and have breakfast and lunch for cheap delivered by the cafe’ restaurant nearby. The staff is young and friendly. In good season you can also work in terrace or garden

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Tents and campervans (not higher than 3.50m) are welcome but toilet and shower outside are basic and we must cut the grass from time to time anyway

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Neighbors have two dogs and some donkeys and chickens. A couple of cats from other neighbors are often passing by. I haven’t yet a gate to close the yard so your pets should be under your responsibility.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 418892364542