updated  

Pioneers for people living with dementia. Garden maintenance and workshop jobs in Raumati Beach, New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Jan and Marian. Dutch from origine, both over 60 years old, living in New Zealand since 2007. We are living in a traditional New Zealand homestead in the middle of our community, of nearly 2600m2. The property has a flower garden and vegetable patch, a large workshop and animals to take care for. Our dream came through, to prepare this place for visitors with mild Dementia, based on Dutch models of care.
    This is a community-based day-care facility aiming to bring pride, joy and respect to people in their early stages of Dementia by inspiring and supporting them to use their skills in a homely, social environment.
    We need your help maintaining the garden around the house and preparing arty - stuff in the workshop. We try to use recycled materials when possible. Also, if you have great experience in making promotional videos, you could help us out.
    We have a lovely Huntaway dog, Bella and a great bunch of chooks , some rabbits and are looking into adopting other animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are Dutch:) in New Zealand. The ‘model of care’ is based on the Dutch model of social approach for people with Dementia. The day visitors coming here, all have some sort of memory loss, are mobil. love to work in the kitchen, garden, workshop etc using their long learned skills, doing ordinary things and enjoy company. "You do not see the difference between the visitors and workers" and we hope to guide you along the way of De-stigmatising dementia, if you not already are aware of this. We are fully imbedded in the New Zealand culture / community. You might meet interesting people of all kinds. We are nurses as well as artists in: Pallet/ wood art, painting, funky ideas. You can upgrade your garden and DIY skills, or show us yours.
    You might be able to help us setting up flyers and other PR material. We could introduce you to Toastmasters to enhance your public speaking and leadership skills.
    We are also grandparents of 6 ‘far away’. You might be open to see how we handle this to have good contact with our family oversees.
    The base of all we are and do is our christian faith.
    As you can read; certainly no dull moment here.

  • Help

    Help

    Knowledge of gardening, or willing to learn, help with caring for the animals and DIY . We are open for ideas but we also need listeners. We are looking for experienced people in making promotional videos, who have skills to understand our passion behind our project. We work with people with memory loss, they will not be your responsibility, however you might learn a lot of people skills/ gain insight in watching us and our volunteers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Open to learn more about the guest’s language / Culture

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one small bedroom in the house and a concrete slab where a camper/ van can be parked. We do share the bathroom

    We will supply your meals and you can use our washing machine. Wifi available, beach nearby and nice walking tracks as well

    We are pretty regular with meal times and coffee / tea breaks and we enjoy them together. On the days we are having day-visitors we are all having cooked lunches together. This might be a cultural experience for you:)

    We are open to have you around, yet by living in with us, we also need time on our own in the evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good public transport to Wellington or upper North Island, the station is nearby. Good bicycle paths, great hiking tracks, 2 km from lovely beach, good for surfing nearby and Kapiti Island view. Lots of artists around. Bike available.
    Shopping mall at walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi is available

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a concrete slab near the house where a van can be parked

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week, weekends off.

Host ref number: 417279628818

Feedback (12)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)














Experience off-grid family life and help with DIY and eco projects in Lower Kaimai, New Zealand
Help with a non-profit forest school regenerating land near Pukaha wildlife center, New Zealand