Fun times on a rural smallholding in a beautiful part of Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workaways! Come and have some fun on our smallholding in a beautiful, secluded and peaceful location in rural Somerset.

    We have dogs, cats, goats, a cheeky shetland pony, ducks, geese and chickens so you will definitely need to be animal lovers and confident around animals.

    You may also find puppies, goat kids, chicks or ducklings too dependent on the time of year!

    We are a very welcoming and sociable family of four (mum, dad and two grown up teenage children) living in a relaxed and happy household.

    Dad works as a Training Manager in Bath and mum runs a graphic design business from home.

    If we get spare time we go to watch rugby and go to lots of live gigs including Glastonbury Festival. We enjoy meeting people and sharing experiences

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for fun, happy, outgoing and willing volunteers to help out with some jobs and maintenance (mostly outdoors).

    For example: we have a log cabin and lots of stables/sheds/fencing/gates and we would like them painted with preservative this year.

    There could also be caring for the animals and helping out with some household chores. Preferably 2 - 4 week applications from 1 or 2 persons, couples welcome

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a small, light and airy room suitable for 2 with comfortable bunk beds in the main cottage, overlooking the pond.

    Bathroom facilities are shared (we have 2 bathrooms both with showers). There is use of a separate lounge if you would prefer some peace and quiet. Definitely no smokers.

    Breakfast will be help yourself (enjoy eggs from our free range chickens and ducks if you like!). Lunch will be DIY sandwiches. We enjoy cooking so a good variety of tasty evening meals will be provided. We prepare fresh food and eat healthily

    We do have dogs and cats in the house but they are contained to two rooms

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small hamlet, in a spacious 4 bedroom cottage with very few neighbours and there are plenty of beautiful walks around. We have a large stream fed pond which is a wildlife haven, with plenty of places to sit outside to enjoy the lovely scenery. There are 3/4 pubs and a village shop/post office within walking distance. You will have the use of bikes and we are happy to provide some lifts

    The nearest bus stop is 10 minutes walk away where you can get buses to Shepton Mallet, Frome, Radstock, Bath, Wells and Glastonbury but we are rural and the buses are not very frequent.

    If you are looking for city or night life then this is not for you, but if you are looking for peace and quiet, no air or light pollution (amazing stars!), plenty of outside space, traditional country pubs, friendly village life and a chance to get close to nature then you will really enjoy a stay with us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 416246192328