Experience life on a farm only 15 minutes from Calgary, Canada



Favourited 213 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Looks like that is it for me for the season. I am expecting a helper next week and we will finish up in the garden. Best of luck to all the travellers out there and THANK YOU to all the helpers that visited this year.
    We have had a very wet summer and the garden has gone crazy. We are eating so much from the garden these days - lettuce, peas, raspberries, carrots, beets and on and on. Soon we will harvest potatoes and onions and then with an eye to winter, look at putting the gardens to bed. I did find helpers for September but sadly they have had to cancel. I am looking for a couple or two or three friends travelling together for just a week or two. The nights will get colder and we will need to pack away the flower pots, the pool, the fountains, the stakes, supports and signs and move the compost into the garden and mulch up for the winter. We will continue to harvest vegetables and store, freeze, dry and can the excess so it can be enjoyed throughout the cold winter months. If you would like to come help and learn how to harvest and preserve vegetables as well as prep for winter please contact me asap.
    We have had a ton of rain and the weeds are crazy! Thank goodness I have new helpers arriving Sunday. Stampede is on this week and Calgary is in a Party mood. We will do some weed and planting and then head out to find a Stampede party. Hope everyone is having a great summer. Still looking for helpers in September to bring in the gardens and prep the beds for spring.
    Thanks everyone - I found a helper to get the garden in. I am currently booked until the end of August. Still looking for helpers in September.
    May 2019 Sooooo.....due to a lot of rained out days I am a bit behind in the garden. Decided to host helpers (couple/friends) just for a week or so from now into the first weeks of June. Get the rest of the garden in, plant out seedlings - strawberries, tomatoes and celery, seed the herb garden, mulch up, weed wack some weeds, prep the raspberry canes etc. Spend your evenings in the hot tub and around the fire pit unless there is MORE rain . . . . sigh
    APRIL 2019 Well that didn't take long . . . . all booked up until the end of the summer again. Come and help harvest the garden and learn how to can, freeze, and store vegetables for the winter. August is pretty hot and slow around here. There will be lots of time to go exploring, hiking and sightseeing or even take a few days off and head to the mountains.
    APRIL 2019 Just had a last minute cancellation. Helpers have a family emergency and are unexpectedly returning home. I will need help putting the gardens in for a couple of weeks in May and a couple of weeks in June. Prefer couples or friends traveling together. Very quiet family farm. We were in the garden the last couple of weeks and it is prepped and ready to go.
    MARCH 2019
    Seedlings are under lights. Tomatoes, herbs, squash, strawberries and much,much more. Huge snow storm yesterday but spring is full of promise. I am looking forward to an early start in the garden this spring. Looking forward to seeding the cold weather vegetables and potatoes in May and we will continue to plant through to the middle of June when the seedlings can go out. This is the best time of the year to come and learn about vegetable gardening. I practice modern mulching and layering techniques and never use chemicals in the garden. If you are interested in learning how to plan/start and plant out a full farm garden you should come. I have a large vegetable garden, 14 raised beds and a kitchen herb garden near the house.


    I prefer to host couples or friends traveling together. There is lots to do on the farm and gardening is always more fun with friends. Preference will be given to those with a genuine interest in gardening and those wanting to stay for at least a few weeks. We are flexible in terms of work hours and time off if you want to plan trips to the mountains or the city.

    We acquired a pretty new, very clean, travel trailer for helpers to stay in. It is your own private space with a view of the valley, mountains and stars at night. It does have power and your own small fridge. We just added a new bathroom close by but it does require a dash in the night! Meals are in the house or on the deck every day and volunteers are expected to help with meal planning, prep and cleanup.

    We are close to Okotoks, Black Diamond / Turner Valley, Bragg Creek etc. Rodeo and Parade season starts in the spring and of course, The Calgary Stampede is in early July.



    The farm is located less than 15 minutes from Calgary and the LRTransit system. We live on a small (20 acre) family farm just south of Calgary. We have vegetable and herb gardens, 2 cats, a large but friendly Maremma and 4 little house dogs, 2 Cavaliers and 2 Toy Spaniels. No animals in the trailer - ever - for those with allergies.

    I like to host couples / friends traveling together. We have more fun working together as a team. I am happy to work with foreign guests looking to improve their verbal skills.

    We are a very small family farm. Work will consist mostly of tending to the vegetable and herb gardens. You can also ride the mower, weed the gardens, work the compost bins, and tend to fences. I appreciate help preparing meals and cleaning up as necessary. Expect to spend the majority of your days outside.

    We are a happily married couple, 30+ years with no children. Lance is in IT and Kathleen is retired from a career in sales. After a sunny day in the garden we spend our evenings in the pool - July and August only - and relaxing by the fire. It is a very private and quiet setting.

    Day trips to Banff/Canmore/Bragg Creek/Black Diamond/Okotoks can be arranged for volunteers staying longer. Calgary and the the LRT station are only 15 minutes away.

    I have asthma and am very sensitive to perfume and scents. Please refrain from using perfume, scented shampoo/conditioner, aftershave or cologne on the farm.

    We have excellent wifi in our home.


    BY THE WAY . . .

    My guests have told me to add a note to say that the food here is very good.
    Apparently that isn't always case . . . I do like to cook.
    I shop for fresh, organic food from the farmers market every week.
    You are welcome to join me so that we make things we will all enjoy.
    We always have lots of fresh fruit and homemade treats (chocolate brownies) around.

    If you like fresh, healthy, homemade meals, fresh air and sunshine you will be happy here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to introduce you to the farmers and friends that live nearby and show you their yards and gardens. We can visit the bison farm in the area and a friend who has chickens, goats, rabbits and a fabulous 100 year old garden. My neighbours have cattle and horses and we are close to the mountains and hiking trails. The farmers market in Millarville is our weekly shopping stop and has been in operation for over 100 years.

  • Help


    Most help required will consist of general gardening, planting, and weeding in the family garden. The gardens need spring prep, the yard will need cleanup, mowing and seeding. On rainy days we will clean up in the outbuildings, garage and basement. I will start seedlings in the basement and they need babying until they are planted out. We start after breakfast at 9:00 each day and quit around 3:00. If it is too hot we can spend the afternoon in the pool and finish up in the cooler hours of the evening. There are lots of little projects to complete so it is never boring.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    There is plenty of space if you prefer to set up a tent and sleep outside. We just acquired a travel trailer and it is all set up for helpers. Privacy, a mountain view, and stars!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 15 minutes south of the LRT Train station in Calgary. I am happy to pick you up there or provide directions if you have your own transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours / day 5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 414359891596