Help at a small, family hostel in Pucón, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 288 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome! Come and experience the adventure and outdoor lifestyle of Pucon. Pucon is a beautiful little town situated between the lake and the volcano of Villarrica. The nightlife is vibrant, and the surrounding area offers a splendor of exciting outdoor activities. I have a good knowledge of the area and am happy to give you any advice you need to explore.

    The hostel is a quiet, small hostel. I run it myself. It's placed just off central, 2 minutes from the beach on the lake. I don't demand an unreasonable amount of work, far from it. 2-3 hours a day is fine and you can work in the mornings and still keep the entire day and night to go explore and have a good time. I like people to come and share, cook meals for each other, hang out and be personable. The work outside is mainly in the garden, or occasionally painting. During the high season, I need help turning the rooms, cleaning and taking reservations. The rest of the time is yours.

    The room offered is outside of the main house and fits a bunkbed. There is a bathroom also right next door. It's cozy. We offer breakfast and I am happy to do some food shopping for you and share some cooking if needed. If you have a sleeping bag, great! bring it! If not no sweat, I can kit you out.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are a variety of different people who come and stay, so the place is alive with different culture. I am from Chile and Argentina, but have lived in France and England and can speak those languages and am happy to help teach! My girlfriend is local and cooks exquisit local cuisine. I have a deep knowledge of the surrounding area because I was raised in Pucon.

  • Help

    Help

    2-3 hours per day, beds, house cleaning, answer the phone, show rooms to tourists, keep the garden nice. It's easy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a little room for the worker outside of the main house, with a bathroom right nextdoor, and from march on there is room on the houses

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pucón is a small town in the middle of the southern lake district in Chile. Extremely popular both with Chileans and foreigners for its nightlife and the beautiful views of volcan Villarrica.

    Things to do:

    Climbing Volcan Villarrica. Snowcapped Villarrica looms majestically over Pucón at 2,840 meters (9318 feet) above sea level

    Skiing and snowboarding. The skiing area on Villarrica is open May until the beginning of October.

    Horse back riding. This is a popular way to see the Mapuche settlements like e.g. Quelhue in the area.

    Hike past the waterfalls and gurgling brooks in the Huerquehue National Park. Doing this will enable you to get to know the strange Araucaria (monkey puzzle) tree, as well as other native vegetation such as Coigües and Lingues.

    Visit the Volcanic Caves at Villarrica Volcan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1 to 3 hours a day, 6 days a week







Host ref number: 181191914611