Best of both worlds in the Central Coast hinterland, Australia: surrounded by nature but 10 minutes from cafes & tourist attractions.

Country

Australia

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    308

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with two very sweet boys (3 years and 2 weeks old, respectively) and a beautiful dog called Layla.

    About us:
    We've both traveled extensively, love good food and swapping stories with people from all walks of life. Georgia is a nutritionist and wholefoods chef and works mostly from home. Jan migrated over 11 years ago from Germany and works in finance.

    We're both really laid back and easy-going people and love a good laugh. We enjoy being around the house which we purchased a year ago and have big dreams to transform it into a farm-to-table cooking school/educational space.

    We live in a large off-grid (solar) 5-bedroom house which has 2 levels and plenty of space. We're located between Sydney and Newcastle (a short 1 hour drive to each) on an 18 acre property in the beautiful Little Jilliby valley, on the Central Coast of NSW. This is a unique area because it is only a short 10 minute drive into town but the property is tucked away and surrounded by state forest on all sides with hiking trails into the hills in every direction. We encounter an abundance of the Australian wildlife (wallabies, wombats, goannas, kookaburras etc.) on a daily basis.

    Our property has fully established gardens with 30 fruit and nut trees including many Australian native bush foods like Macadamias, Davidson plum, Lemon Myrtle and many other delicious varieties such as white and black mulberries, mangoes, avocados, kiwi fruit, figs, ice cream bean, pine nuts, pears, peaches, plums and every type of citrus you could wish for. We also have a productive vegetable and herb garden.

    There are many attractions to explore in the local area (10-15 minutes away) such as a local cheese maker, chocolate factory, tree top adventure park, some great new cafes, horse riding, local farms (offering farm tours), cooking schools and a huge shopping mall which includes a cinema complex.

    We are 30 minutes away from some of Australia's most stunning beaches that stretch on for miles. We are also only 45 minutes away from the Hunter Valley wine region.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both well traveled and both know what it feels like to be away from home and would love to provide our workawayers a good time. Showing local sites if time permits rather than simply leaving you to your own devices. There are other farmstays in the local area who also host young travelers. There is a good chance that we can introduce you to other fellow workawayers.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is easy-going with a good sense of humor. Someone who doesn't mind getting their hands dirty. We are keen to transform our place into something special and there are lots of different jobs on our property including gardening, chopping/cutting wood, collecting firewood, small house maintenance jobs such as painting, sweeping, etc. and some cleaning such as vacuuming, cleaning windows etc.

    Any skill set that relates to gardening, landscaping, building work, handy work would be fabulous but certainly not required.

    There are also opportunities to head to Sydney with Jan and help him with mail drop deliveries in various suburbs (a great way to explore Sydney!)

    We can provide a schedule that will include a variety of work, so you're not always doing the same thing every day. We require 25 hours per week but are really flexible in terms of how you would like to contribute the hours e.g. 3 long days per week so that you can spend the other days exploring.

    Also, our workawayers will need to be comfortable with dogs. Our dog is really friendly and playful once she gets to know you but she's got kelpie in her and therefore tends to bark a lot when people first arrive.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a queen size bed in your own room upstairs, with a shared bathroom. We spend our days downstairs and when you want to relax, you'll have the whole of the upstairs area for yourself.

    Breakfast and lunch are generally self catered, dinner is eaten together. We tend to be gluten free but have no issues catering for all preferences (except veganism).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are non-smokers and live a healthy lifestyle. We require our workawayers to be non-smokers. We are fine with the odd glass of wine being consumed over dinner, however we won't tolerate drunkenness or drug use. Any evidence of this will result in immediate eviction.

    We usually head to town several times a day and we are more than happy to accommodate any detours or trips you'd like to take in the local area or valleys. There is a train station in town (Wyong or Tuggerah) which will take you to Sydney or Newcastle (just over an hour).

    We have a TV but never use it (it's only connected to Apple TV).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 413618761671