Help me with my DIY projects and learn about traditional homesteading in Victoria, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Winter 2021-22 update.
    primarily interested in inquiries from solo's or couples travelling in their own kitchen/bath equipped rig and wishing to stay for 6 weeks or longer.

    Old lady, old farm, old ways.

    Mostly the "hip" farms are amongst younger people who almost always are using the land as a source of income. So you can learn how to grow things to sell. This, however, is an informal exposure to a "homesteading" type approach, with a diversity of products intended to be preserved and used throughout the year, not monetized. If you need a broad buffet of the "awesome" things people "go traveling" to get (or to avoid) - you'll likely be disappointed here.

    If, on the other hand, you want quiet and you want to grow things, this could be a good fit. Two particular types of helpers could find this the place to be. (1) If you are traveling but need to be online daily to earn income remotely "back home." (2) if you realize your ESL skills are holding you back from deeper and more genuine connection to people and places, this could be an excellent fit, see next paragraph.

    I'm a retired teacher and have tutored helpers over the years. If you are ESL, prefer that you stay at least two months and agree to a daily ESL tutorial. I like to focus on helping you hear spoken english as it is usually the weakest skill. Will consider helping prep for IELTS.

    USA UPDATE:

    If you are a "refugee" from the heat and fire, or just anxious to get away for a while:
    I am interested in hosting people over age 30 with trades skills:

    diesel (kubota tractor) mechanic, particularly electrical system
    deere mechanic
    accomplished carpenter - if you built your own house, that's accomplished. If you helped your uncle in his construction business 11 years ago, that's not
    plumbing or electrical -
    I ask far fewer hours than most hosts, giving you lots of time to hike, surf, swim, or just have some down time.

    COVID UPDATE:

    Covid did not "end" on this farm. The delta variant is taken very, very seriously here. We have not relaxed any of the established guidelines.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Homesteading. ESL tutoring. Learn to preserve food for winter consumption. During covid many traditional weekly events such as burger and beer night can't be held. We keep a list of day hiking trips accessible with a $5 day bus pass and pack a picnic for your day off if you wish.

  • Help

    Help

    Until Covid restrictions end, two tracks are available: (1) Modest solo housing in exchange for ONE hour per day, you take full responsibility for buying and preparing food in your own non-shared kitchen. (2) Modest solo housing plus food allowance in exchange for THREE hours per day - you buy and prepare all food in your own non-shared kitchen.

    If you have handyman skills, fence and outbuilding repairs are a priority. If you are a small engine wizard, mowers and tillers often need attention.

    Mostly, though, you'll be doing unskilled farm work that is seasonal. Planting in spring, weeding and watering in summer, harvesting in fall.
    There is no animal care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During covid restrictions, the farm house is closed. You will live in a camper that has kit, bath, heat, etc. A tiniest type of "tiny house. EXCELLENT WIFI access.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is a half km walk to a large-chain supermarket and to a bus stop served by several good bus routes.

    There are bicycles to lend.

    Almost every south Vancouver Island attraction and hiking trail can be reached by bus or bike.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    All the privacy, quiet, and wifi you should need.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Your motorhome is welcome here! Can provide water for your tank, electricity, and wifi. It is a 5km drive to a campground that charges a modest $7 dump fee.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    With a great deal of reference checking in advance, your pooch is welcome here ! Sorry, no cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    see above, 6 day work week, option either 1 or 3 hr/day



Host ref number: 411579358883