updated  

Join us at our Lakehouse on Adams Lake, BC

  • Favourited 157 times
  • Last activity: 21 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a very rural living quiet family of 4 living on beautiful Adams Lake, BC. We have 3 horses and 20 chickens, 3 (2 big, one minipin) dogs and 2 cats at our lakehouse with a farm like feel! We take pride in a beautiful home and would love to share rural Canadian lifestyle with those who enjoy learning about the local area of interior BC. We find it fairly isolating being 1 hour from closest town and would enjoy hosting a traveler to appreciate the beauty of our lake and funny farm home. We enjoy working outside but believe in the balance of relaxing and having fun important! Learning about animal husbandry and sharing gardening/landscaping passions/skills would be some of the things we would be hoping for. We have kids over the age of 10 and believe kindness as key! Looking forward to the opportunity to meet new friends!

    ONLY HAVE ROOM FOR 1 WORK-AWAY GUEST

    NO SMOKING HOME/STAY thanks :)

    Project involves majority horse care, yard work/gardening come spring, and dog care, and company! With some small house projects/cleaning/cooking. Sharing knowledge/skills with my kids. *Understanding Horses is requested for applications. Carpentry would be a bonus skill :)

    We are a proud 4-H family and we will involve our guest in learning about what this "youth leader development program" entails if it interests the workaway. Volunteering is part of our every day lives and as the "Horse Leader" my home is often brainstorming fun learning opportunities for our members.

    Our home has a plethora of seasons (All 4) and each brings different beauties and challenges. We have wildlife, bugs, birds, and if one can see the beauty that nature surprises hold- we also have mud season, snow season. Hot season and cold season! Every one fun to explore here!

    Logging community that we live in also has option to explore this industry if it interests the work away! This would be a "learn only" not job.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Quiet rural Canada lifestyle. Lake and funny farm home. 4 Seasons. Canadian cooking and lifestyle. Friendly community. Canada Logging experience if interests traveller.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Horse Care (Feeding, Riding, mucking pens). Chickens (Feed/Coop Cleans). Dogs (Feed/walks/mucking yard) Cats (Feed). Landscaping. Weeding. Yard work. Housekeeping, Cooking help. Bonus skills: carpentry or tiling/bathroom updates (tile etc). Again - balance is key. Mostly looking for help with yard upkeep.
    *priority goes to horse experienced help

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 bdrm, 2.5 bathroom Lake House, private spare room for workstay.

    We will provide all food and meals. We eat typical Canadian style meals and enjoy cooking/baking! Meal prep/ideas is greatly appreciated though! They will have full access to cupboard and if specific foods requested we can do our best to stock such. I can not accommodate certain diets- "eat what we eat" or simple requests can be discussed for sure.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    1 hr from Sunpeaks, 1 hr from local town Barriere. Hiking. Johnson Lake 25 min. House is on the beach of Adams Lake. Logging community. Have family familiar with work aways.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have an older MAC computer and a Starlink internet. Seems reliable for work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large yard and ample space for parking!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 649267181676

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)






Join our Artistic family and household, Vancouver, Canada
Help with farm projects and DIY on our “unusual” homestead in Argenta, Canada