Enjoy sunshine, gardening and horses in Tucson, Arizona, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 1021 times
  • Last activity: 1 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    This Tucson home sits on a couple of quiet acres but is close to town. Our goal is to provide a peaceful, friendly, safe environment for animals and humans to interact and learn from each other. At first we scheduled one person at a time. Accidentally, three overlapped and it was great fun! Now we sometimes juggle sleeping arrangements but we often have our own multi-national meals and adventures!

    With so many animals, this place sounds like a good place to heal mental health problems but we are not qualified to help you with that. Please seek professional help.

    There are always things to be done. Twice a day the horses and dogs are fed and manure cleaned up. This takes about one-half hour morning and evening. The rest of the day depends on priorities at the time, for example: house cleaning, tree trimming, pasture maintenance, lawn and garden work; horse and equipment care, irrigation system maintenance and repair.

    Although there are only two human residents living here, there are three or more dogs, one cat, two horses, and two mules plus many friends with their critters visit. We are both professionals and retired so our minds are in better shape than our bodies! We enjoy sharing the southwest and anticipate learning about other countries. Limited understanding of English is fine if learning English is a goal. If you are someone who prefers to stay in your room until told to help, this is not the place for you. This is not the time to be on the phone all day. Find what needs improvement, make suggestions, initiate and you will be rewarded with wonderful experiences. The profile states 5 days a week, 5 hours per day. I do not offer a consistent workday schedule. We are project and goal oriented rather than a time clock keeper. Please do not consider this place if you need constant supervision or cannot find something to do on your own.

    We have found that if you are new to the southwest, three weeks (preferably longer) gives time to visit our area and experience the southwest. Shorter stays are possible when there is a gap in the calendar.

    I have also learned that I really don’t prepare regular meals — We often shop with our visitors and buy what they like to eat. If they cook, I like to share the eating and will help but my cooking is sporadic! If a visitor likes beef, pork or chicken, there is a ridiculous amount on hand. If they like sweets, yep, lots. We also have lots of fresh veggies and salad makings ... I would rather pull weeds, trim trees, drive the tractor, mow the lawn than clean the house so cleaning the house and porches is a daily chore with all these animals.

    We foster dogs, sometimes they were abused and often come totally untrained. If you like to help training them and show them how great living with humans can be, this is a good place for you.

    Retirement so far is great and ‘workaway’ has added to our lives.

    I am adamant about no smoking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The variety of people, professions, and ages that come to our home is unusual. I encourage my friends to drop in to eat or just sit on the porch and enjoy the surroundings. Discussions will promote language skill, encourage questions about the American way of life, environment issues, cultural differences, financial difficulties, history of the southwest and more.
    Dan likes to teach you guitar, if you are willing to learn it or to improve your skills.

  • Help


    We have plenty that could get done but do not stress. Yard chores, gardening, organization, general household tasks, or cooking are examples of the type of help but it will depend on the person. A self motivated person will be appreciated, but direction and choices will be discussed. What is asked of the person would be dependent on that persons interests or skills. I believe in treating people with respect and expecting the same. The length of time someone is staying will determine the type of project they could be involved. Dan is an architect, commercial contractor and retired military so his shareable experiences are extensive. Rhonda has worked as a environmental scientist for over thirty-five years including mining, utilities and private consulting.
    On a daily basis we care for the horses, dogs, cats and ourselves. Depending on the weather we can work or play inside or out. I encourage appreciation of the desert and it's history. From our home there are walking, bicycle and horse trails. The bus system is close and will take a bike along which I will provide so access to downtown, etc. is convenient.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Guest bedroom (king comfort select mattress) and guest bathroom. You can use this bedroom for two if you're friends. A second bedroom is my old office, AC, tile floors. Well water, solar power.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers will have access to trails, bikes, bus transportation, any family or group trips or shopping. University of Arizona and downtown Tucson are easily reached by bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My internet is centurylink which is not as good as cable. Two people were able to zoom/teleconference at the same time is the best quantity I can provide.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Depending on the maneuverability parking is easy. Electric/water is easy. Septic is much harder.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are welcome as long as they are friendly, vaccinated and will stick around as the gate is open for deliveries during the day. Small pets should be watched because coyotes and bobcats are frequent.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 399866622512

Feedback (25)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)

Learn self sufficiency in a off-grid rainforest homestead on the big island, Hawaii, USA
Nonprofit farm animal sanctuary on Hawaii's Big Island