Come explore Glacier National Park and help with landscaping and outdoor tasks in Montana, USA


United States

Favourited 271 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hello! We are a family from beautiful Whitefish, Montana, USA!
    We've been fortunate to be Workaway hosts for over three years and now it is time for an update!
    My name is Debra and I am a self-employed nutritionist, health writer and artist. My husband Eric is a voice actor who runs his own business. Our daughter, Katrina, is attending university in the Netherlands. We currently have one very friendly elderly cat, Max. We love traveling and have traveled extensively. We also enjoy meeting new people, playing music, cooking, movies and enjoying the outdoors by hiking, kayaking and skiing. Both Eric and I grew up in Montana, but lived in Seattle for several years, and other places before moving back to Montana. Whitefish is a ski and summer resort town on the border of Canada, home to Big Mountain and we live very close to beautiful Glacier National Park. Whitefish is small, but usually has lots going on, especially in the summer. We live about a 5 minute walk from the downtown and are also within walking/biking distance from Whitefish Lake. There are many lakes in the area, great for swimming, boating, or fishing and lots of great places to hike and bike! It really is a nature lovers paradise!
    We have hosted several exchange students over the years, SERVAS visitors, and several workaways and love meeting new people, learning about them and hearing their stories. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Montana is a huge and diverse state. We live in the North-West region, home to mountains, lakes, and lots of wildlife. Although Montana is a politically conservative state, Whitefish is an open-minded community and people are very friendly and welcoming to those from all walks of life.

  • Help


    We built our house in 2014 and are currently working on landscaping the front and back yards. We will need help with landscaping, planting, and gardening. We also are working on organizing our garage and ask for occasional help lifting and organizing boxes. If you are handy as a builder we may need help with building flower-boxes and landscaping borders, but this is not required. The landscaping will require some heavy lifting as we will be moving dirt, planting trees etc. We also may need you to help us collect and stack firewood!
    Since there is a lot to see and explore in our area, we want to give you time to adventure! We expect you to work 15 hours a week, but can be flexible on how you want to divide those hours per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in a newer 29 ft travel trailer with a full kitchen, refrigerator, shower, toilet, dining area, and queen bed. The trailer is parked behind our house and you will have it all to yourself. It has both heating and air conditioning. You will be responsible for keeping the trailer clean. We will provide any cleaning products you need.
    You will also be responsible for your own food, but we may invite you to join us for a couple meals a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whitefish is located in a valley in the Rocky Mountains. Whitefish is relatively rural. The closest major US city is Seattle, which is an 8 hour drive away. The closest Canadian city is Calgary, which is about a 5 hour drive. Despite it's location, Whitefish attracts a lot of tourists and is very lively. In the summer there are lots of music and arts festivals and many great restaurants and coffee shops. We live about 30 minutes drive from Glacier National Park, a popular destination for people from all over the world. There, you can hike, bike, camp, swim, and enjoy the views!
    We are a non-smoking household and we kindly ask that there be no smoking in the trailer. We also cannot accept any pets. You will have your own space and privacy, but we ask that you do not invite anyone else that we do not know over. We are an easygoing family and are looking forward to getting to know you, but since we both work from home, we do need our privacy at certain times throughout the day.
    We all share a passion for travel and our daughter, Katrina, even had a chance to do Workaway at a hostel in Ireland a couple of years ago.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 752113373455

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host