Live by the river with us in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone:)

    We are 2 adults and 2 kids (9&14 years old). Our house and lifestyle are modest, and in some ways unusual. We are a family that is more interested in joy than in historical social conventions, so if you can enjoy living outside of the box a little, you will enjoy living with us.

    We love to have people stay with us not just to help us with the work, but also to celebrate life with us, and be part of our community.

    We have recently moved into our own farm (10 hectares with a river and a waterfall almost on the doorstep). We are in Lagares da beira, near Oliveira do hospital, Portugal. We are setting up the house - which needs finishing, and starting the farm’s infrastructure.

    Currently we can host up to 10 helpers. We have a few rooms and beds in the house, and some camping spaces. We can provide a tent and mattress if needed, or if you have your own van, there’s plenty of space for you to camp that way. For campers we have an out-house toilet and shower room, which currently you have the opportunity to help us finish. The house has another 2 bathrooms available to everyone. Usually our helpers eat with us. Cooking and cleaning after a meal is part of life with us, and in principle we expect everyone to partake in this work. We really do prefer people who like socialising. But we know how to give people space when they need it.

    Your work will be to support us with the farm, and the house work, including gardening, fence building, house construction (it’s in its final stage), cleaning, cooking, child minding/tutoring, and depending on your skills- other specialised work. For some, It means waking up early to prepare for school 5 says a week and being there to help with dinners etc. For others, it may mean chopping wood, or restructuring an ancient stone wall that has been damaged.
    The house work is normal and includes cleaning and Cooking etc.

    We need people who LOVE people and children. We prefer people who are motivated to help and have high cleanliness standards, so that we don’t need to explain to you much about it. If you have a drivers license That’s even better. If you have technical skills, in farming or construction, we want to hear from you!

    We expect up to 20 hours of work per week from each of you. This will pay for your accommodation and utilities, including wifi. Depending on the arrangement with us, your stay can include food, but depending on how much time you actually put in, we allow people to also contribute less time and to pay for their food costs (about 25 Euros per week, but if we can get the garden going well maybe that could be reduced..).

    Important Note: we are a vegetarian, no onion and no garlic household. We have a very strict no smoking and no alcohol policy. Please only contact us if you feel you can comply with this.

    We have space from 15 June 2020. And we will need you to commit to stay at least for A week. We consider that a trial week.

    Our helpers always receive love and conversation, An opportunity to learn /join meditation and Tai Chi or yoga lessons/practice, and home made music! Bathing in the river is a daily thing too around here.

    If you are interested, contact us :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange for your help, you will receive space to camp, access to all the facilities of the house, and utilities including wifi, TLC, conversation, and much more. This "more" includes but is not restricted to going out on hikes, joining yoga /dance / tai chi, and sitting together playing music, or games. Your interests can influence our choice of fun.

  • Help

    Help

    We need to finish our house. Tiling, wall painting, carpentry, and such skills will be super. Any skills that can allow us to get off the electric grid, would be appreciated too. We also need to start the farm side of things so construction of paths, fences, digging compost holes, general weeding and gardening are just some of the things. People with design and permaculture knowledge and know how, would be very welcome as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on availability - room in the house (probably shared). We can also provide a tent and mattress. Loads of space for tents and campervans is available. Please contact us to discuss what we currently have.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are interested to stay with us please tell us a little about yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12-20 hours per week


Host ref number: 399699169298