Looking for help on my homestead in Hoopa, an indigenous Native American reservation in California, USA


United States


Favourited 809 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi my name is Spencer, I am a small scale organic farmer and produce seller at a farmers market (Founder/Owner). My focus is on food and rely on my produce and home made conserves as my source of my livelihood.

    My homestead is located in Hoopa, an indigenous Native American reservation in Humboldt County California.
    Situated on the Trinity river, 20 miles (30km) from Willow creek, it is a small acreage with a diverse range of fruit and vegetables.

    I am running this homestead with some help from my 18 year old son, Jules and two dogs Bella and Barrington but there always a job to be done.

    If you like the sound of this please feel free to contact me at any given point and am always happy to answer any question you may have.

    Hola soy Spencer, un granjero a pequeña escala dedicado a la producción y venta de vegetales orgánicos.

    Dependo directamente de los productos que cultivo y las conservas artesanales que preparo como principal recurso para el sostenimiento de mi granja.

    Mi granja familiar esta ubicada en Hoopa, una Reserva Nativa Americana en Humbolt County California. Situada a las orillas de Trinity river, a 30 km de Willow Creek, tengo una propiedad pequeña con una gran variedad de frutas y vegetales.

    Mi hijo Jules de 17 anos y mis perros Vela y Barrington me ayudan mucho en la granja, pero en el campo siempre hay algo que hacer.
    Si quieres pasar un buen tiempo ayudando en nuestra granja y aprendiendo juntos no dudes en escribir estare feliz de responder tus preguntas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Able to expand on their organic farming knowledge, language exchanges, homestead living.
    Whilst I am not Native American there is the option to learn Native American Hoopa traditions, language, and knowledge

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    Looking for a helping hand on the farm for a wide range of projects, depending on your personal skill set I am flexible and open to new ideas and sustainability projects but general farm labor (weeding, bushwhacking, gardening pruning, harvesting, planting etc) is always appreciated.
    I am always in search of carpenters, environmental engineers and Permaculturists.
    I do not book stays here of any length beyond 2 weeks. I can not commit to anyone for stays of over 2 weeks until we have met and shared vibes.. My experience is that we have to meet first to agree beyond that!! If you know you are coming to California we can try a short stay of up to Two(2) weeks and go from there. If it goes well for us and you are giving great energy to the farm we can negotiate extending the stay for longer!! Looking for independent minded people who Have energy to give to the farm. Winter conditions in January - March can be very wet and cold.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    The living and working conditions
    - Spring/summer: 4 volunteers max.
    - autumn/winter: 2 volunteers max.
    - Camping conditions
    - 5 days a week, 5 hours a day
    - Providing most costs and use of farm produce in your own cooking
    - Ganja friendly farm as long as respect is shown

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Weekend farmers market in Arcata and Eureka,
    Swimming and salmon and steelhead fishing on the Trinity river
    Beautiful nature with bears coming very close to the property
    The coastal line (30 minutes from Willow creek)
    Californian red woods and prairie creek national park (1.5- 2 hours away)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 395893736239