Help out on our farm and wildlife rescue care in Cooktown, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 465 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    185

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I have a 16 hectare organic farm in Cooktown.

    We have many pet animals including three dogs, two horses, chickens and ducks.

    I am a wildlife carer so we currently have orphaned native animals which we need help caring for. The number varies depending on releases. Currently we have 12 joeys, 1 Frogmouth and one Torres Strait pigeon.

    I am a teacher and Rick is a builder so you will be home alone at times. Help needed gardening, housework and feeding the orphans.

    Recently we have had people who have booked in for a month. We have turned away other people for them They have left because of job offers elsewhere. Please if you apply be committed. It is not fair to other workaway people and the orphans.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to experience life on a typical Australian farm. Help with daily chores including feeding animals. Home cooked meals include traditional Australian meals such as camp oven stew and dumplings, chicken curry made from fresh herbs, fresh vegetables and seasonal fruit. Historical Cooktown is 20km away and offers many tourist attractions. There is an opportunity to go fishing in our boat depending on the weather. Great bird watching and walks along the river.
    Get to meet and help with orphaned animals.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with gardening and planting. This includes: planting seedlings, mowing, weeding, mulching, setting up irrigation.
    Help with general household chores. Cleaning, cooking. We have a dishwasher.
    Help with feeding, toileting orphan animals.
    Current projects are to extend wallaby pen and make a possum enclosure. So building skills or willingness to help would be good.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a liveable shed. We lived there for five years prior to building other accommodation. Queen bed with mossie net. You will get an occasional microbat flying though and native geckos (cute little lizards) in your accommodation. Both eat insects including mosquitoes and spiders so we are very tolerant of them. Completely harmless to you but if you have phobias about this type of animal this possibly is not the place for you.
    Good wifi access. Not so good mobile reception.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are flexible with your time off and Cooktown is well worth a visit. Historic Cooktown became a thriving port during the gold rush era after it was discovered by Captain James Cook when the HMS Endeavour hit a reef in 1770. Stroll through the town and you will get a sense of its prosperous past from the handmade stone guttering lining the wide streets and the graceful, well-preserved architecture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good Wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 16 hectares. Sheds with power at water

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 This includes feeding animals and general help around the property. Weeding etc

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





























Host ref number: 392396722284