Help with gardening, native planting, weed control and crafts in Nelson & Bays, NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 546 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    103

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large lifestyle block and we have a strong focus on conservation. We are planting and regenerating large areas of native bush. We have 30 alpacas and an organic vegetable garden and orchard. We provide felting, eco-dyeing and mosaics workshop from our studio. We use recycled and eco-friendly materials as much as possible.

    We are looking for volunteers who have a genuine interest in conservation, organic gardening and/or arts and crafts. A lot of the work on our farm is physically demanding and requires a good level of fitness and love for the outdoors.

    We are located in a peaceful valley at the end of a gravel road. The village of Brightwater is 8 kms away and the nearest town is Richmond, about 15 kms away. There are walking and cycling tracks, beaches and rivers nearby.
    We are flexible with the work we offer and this includes farm work, gardening, eradicating large weeds, building and maintenance as well as help with ourt craft workshops.

    We host both single volunteers as well as couples. We host once per month for about 10 days.

    You need sturdy shoes or boots and suitable work clothes. We have a separate very comfortable sleepout next to our house for our volunteers. The meals are mainly vegetarian.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are passionate about growing our own food and restoring native plantings. We spend a lot of time outside and like the demanding physical work. You can learn a lot about gardening, native bush, alpacas and crafts. If you are a hands-on person you will fit right in and we are always keen to learn new skills and techniques ourselves.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks we need help with varies depending on time of the year but includes planting, pruning, vegetable gardening, mowing, weeding. alpaca care and building and maintenance. We prefer people who have some experience with farm chores and gardening as we are not home all the time to supervise. We are also interested in people who have specific art and craft skills to help with our arts and craft workshops and projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a comfortable double room. All meals are provided and evening meals are with the family. Meals are mostly vegetarian but we do eat fish and occasionally have organic or wild meat. We can host vegan volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see and do in the Nelson Region. On your days off you can go biking, hiking or swimming. Nelson is a vibrant arty town in the summer season with nice markets and cafes.
    You have to like a peaceful and tranquil environment while you are staying with us. We are busy people and do most of the work on the property in the weekends and we prefer it if you take weekdays off and work with us in the weekends. We have found that singles or couples who are aged 25+ fit in well and have a great time staying with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 389657272842