Hobby Farming and embracing Island Living on North Whidbey Island, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    331

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 5 acre "Hobby Farm" on the north end of Whidbey Island. 2.5 of the 5 acres are full on west coast forest, the other 2.5 acres are pasture and gardens. The island is located on the north west coast of Washington State.

    On this beautiful little piece of paradise we share with: 5 Yea Olde Babydoll Southdown sheep, 3 Katahdin sheep, 3 Great Pyrenees dogs and a Maremma, chickens, ducks, and rabbits, whose numbers vary. We are developing a large organic garden, fruit trees, vegetables and herbs . Kathleen (Kit), my spouse, is an evening and weekend farmer as she works Monday to Friday in Seattle, as a computer engineer. I work the farm daily. I am recently retired from professional life. Our buddy Karyn of 20 some years lives with us. She has moved back to WA from Louisiana last spring.

    We have a lovely three bedroom rancher style home. You will have your own private room. And of course, access to all the amenities of a house and home.

    We are looking for workaways who want to share our little farm with us for a while and spread the magic. We treat all quests as extended family and expect the same in return. We eat together, work chores and projects together, play together, walk the beaches, and share stories and sip wine. And you will have plenty alone time to go off exploring on your own.

    We are a lesbian couple. so if you're uncomfortable with this you need not apply.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe travelers will benefit from this workaway placement as a cultural exchange in that:

    This is island living, rural community farming, lots of horses, sheep, lots of small 5 and 10 acre farms. We grown most of our own fruit, vegetables, and meat. Our sheep free range in our back yard. We love to build stuff. We love carpentry. We love growing stuff. I love arts and crafts. Kit loves zigsaw puzzles and playing poker. We are homesteading and learning to embrace a healthy life style and a more organic diet.

    We are surrounded by natural beauty. There is easy access to the Pacific Ocean, dense west coast forests, National Parks, hiking, ocean sports, and so much more. We live 10 miles from the little city of Oak Harbor. 86 miles north west of Seattle, WA.

    Oak Harbor is home to a US Navy Training Base. If you love military airplanes this just might be your new favorite place. This is where they train pilots to land on Aircraft Carriers. There is a Military Museum in Oak Harbor and two WW11 military bunkers you can hike to and tour.

    What can a traveler learn from staying here with us: The rewards are endless, animal care and husbandry, how to grow your own food, the art and skills involved in homesteading and being self sustaining.

    Our community offers adventures where you can learn, about first nations culture, airplanes, and WW11 historical military buildings. and explore the mighty forests of the Pacific North West and walk the beaches of the Pacific Ocean. Eat incredible world famous Penn Cove Mussels and delicious local seafood.

    There is an extra bonus for our guests in that you can experience both American and Canadian cultures, as Kit is American and Georgia is Canadian. We love to cook and eat. and yes, we eat Italian Beef Sandwiches and Poutine.

  • Help

    Help

    Our hobby farm can always use extra hands, loving attention, good old fashion elbow grease, and the thrill of creating something. Mostly, it is a wonderful way to embrace country living, farm to table food, beautiful beaches, amazing hikes surrounded by all our critters.

    In 2018 we will clean and card last years wool. Tan sheep hides. Cook & preserve fruit into tasty preserves. Working the garden, care and cleaning for the animals, cleaning out the back forest of downed debris, lay a brick deck, finish and decorate my office in shop, and if we have time and help maybe build a shed or two.

    We work with our workaway volunteers, so the ability to function in a team is paramount, as is the ability to work independently and follow instructions. We like precision in our building, large and small. Kit is a detail oriented personality and I am the big picture personality. We love team work and projects we can all learn from and try new things.

    We have four large dogs that we keep secured on the property, as they are Livestock Guardian dogs and are not used to the many horses in this area. Today we have five Babydoll Southdown Sheep and 2 baby lambs. We also breed rabbits. We have 14 chickens & 4 ducks which provide us with eggs to eat & eggs to sell, and occasionally a chicken or duck dinner.

    I also tend to travel a lot as my mother is aging. Often I go to California to care for her for short periods of time. . So you may be asked to homestay in our absence.

    We choose to live in a relaxed environment and we are surrounded in magnificent beauty. We are a short distance from the Pacific Ocean and we have a full on forest in our back yard. We are a 10 minute drive to Oak Harbor, a couple miles from Deception Pass, a short ferry ride to Port Townsend, WA, and a two hour commute, 86 miles north of Seattle.

    The pace is easy. We embrace island living. The chores diverse, educational and always fun. There is so much to do and see you will not be bored with the many adventures in the Great Pacific Northwest.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a three bedroom ranch style home so you will have your own private room. And of course, access to all the amenities of a house and home. The house is fairly new. There is a full three bay shop. Warning internet is slow and limited, but the cafes in town have free internet as well as our local library. Bus transportation is also free on the island.

    We are surrounded by other 5 and 10 acre farms in a farming community. The property is completely fenced, to keep the dogs in as we are surrounded by horses and horse farms. There are no natural predators beyond an occasional coyote and local dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Deception Pass is at the north end of Whidbey Island and is one of the top 5 site seeing places to visit in Washington State. Whidbey Island forms the northern boundary of Puget Sound.

    There is an abundance of history. Whidbey Island and the surrounding area has a strong First Nations presence, so if Native Culture interests you there is much to learn. The first white settlers where of Dutch descent.

    If you are a romantic watch the movie "An Officer and a Gentleman." It was filmed here.

    If you love air planes, the US Navy base is situated here on Whidbey, so there are planes to watch, and a naval museum to tour.

    If you are a hiker or water sport enthusiast, kayaking, fishing, watching sunsets, horses, hiking, camping, it is all here. You can walk to Deception Park beach from our home.

    The island has a population of about 60,000 people and about 30,00 live in rural Whidbey. There are four tiny cities on the island with lovely shops and restaurants to explore and visit. There are 6 wineries on the island and 2 distilleries.

    There is free public transit system.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week or 25 hours per week





















Host ref number: 388743347967