Youth sailing help for our non profit organisation on the Big Island of Hawaii, USA


United States

Favourited 434 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description



    Our foundation is a non-profit organization created 18 years ago to facilitate getting the children of the island of Hawaii sailing. We are looking for assistance with the day sailing activities we have during school breaks in the winter, spring and summer. Our sailing camp was March 14-18th 2022. We have at least one scholarship fundraiser/sail day each year. In 2020 we included a movie night (Maiden). Although our 2020 Spring camp was cut short due to Covid 19 we were able to have Spring camp in 2021 and 3 weeks of Keiki (ages 8-12 yrs) in June and 3 weeks of Teen sailing in July 2021. We are looking forward to Teen sailing July 2022. Hawaii schools just returned in August; our next camps will hopefully be 1 weeks in October, 1 week in December with "homeschool" days in November and January, if we have instructors and experienced sailors to assist with this year's camps

    Workaways would be staying in the home of directors ( Alicia & Daniel Starsong ), located in Kailua Kona, Hi. Workaways (WA) would be sailing with children age 12-18 in the Winter, Spring and some Summer camps, and children 8-12 in some Summer camps. The day camps are 6 hrs per day with 3-4 hour intro & maintenance day before camp starts. Winter & Spring WA would be able to stay several weeks in exchange for their assistance with camp & home. Summer WA could be as long as 3 months.
    ABILITY to SAIL a dinghy OR operate motorized safety/coach boat (with general sailing knowledge) is required, if WA is a certified instructor additional compensation would be considered. WA could stay additional week in exchange for help around the home. It's host preference that WA have at least a few dinners a week with them.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The island of Hawaii is rich with history and natural wonders. An active volcano, waterfalls, pristine snorkeling. There are many ethnic groups on the island, Hawaiian, Japanese, Filipino, Portuguese and more have cultural events.

  • Help


    Assistance with day sailing camp for children 12-18 years old. Ability to sail a dinghy a must. Ability to drive a 13ft power boat, safe-boating & or sailing instructor certificate helpful. While in the home, keep their area clean, orderly, help with family evening meal. If WA's knowledge or ability to help with sailing camp, work around the house & yard would be a welcome exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Home with 4 adults, and two cats is located 6 miles inland from the shore at an elevation that makes it very comfortable. The home has an ocean view. WA has private entrance to own bedroom, bath and sitting room with toaster oven, coffee maker, blender and ice-chest. Access to full stove in Host's kitchen and limited refrigerator/freezer space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches, snorkeling, rain forests, volcano, planetarium, luaus, and more! Bus service is limited, but there are 4 working adults in the home to share rides with and a bicycle. We have 3 fruit trees and a small vegetable garden, we are serious about re-cycling. We would like to share most evening meals with WA, we do drink alcoholic beverages in the evenings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 616719163727