Help maintain this beautiful, peaceful home above Mullumbimby, Byron Shire, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 352 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a beautiful, comfortable and luxurious home in Mullumbimby Creek. Our grounds have several different gardens, lawns, a budding fruit orchard with major natural bush areas completely surrounding us. It is a only couple of minutes drive from Mullumbimby, about 10 minutes by car to the beach and 20 minutes into Central Byron Bay, traffic permitting!

    You are advised to bring a vehicle to visit this marvellous but infrastructurally challenged part of this country but we have a bicycle to loan, and a trampoline and a plunge pool. Hitchhiking is very easy around these parts and many of my helpers do so with ease. There is a bus service from Mullum that runs every couple of hours and I often drive into Mullum.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers always find the peace and tranquility in this mystical place a delight after the hustle and bustle of the road. Your host speaks excellent English and runs a lovely considerate home.

    Mullumbimby is a world famous music and cultural centre and offers numerous health, spiritual and Yoga facilities.

    NOTE:

    If you will not only fit in here but also meaningfully contribute, then I will invite you to stay, initially for a week by email but more time can be discussed once you are here in person.

    At least a week prior to your arrival please reconfirm your intentions. If I don't hear from you and so ask you to confirm your plans then please answer promptly.

    Remember when you first apply to mention If you are experienced in renovation work or gardening and also whether you have transport.

    Communication is very important and will be conducted between us via this website until close to the day of your arrival to coordinate timing by SMS.

  • Help

    Help

    International travelers who are mature, 23 years of age and over and have their own transportation are the most suitable to live here in my home. Couples are especially welcome.

    NOTE: If you are experienced in house renovation work or gardening then please mention it in your initial email and also mention whether you have transport.

    The outdoor work is landscaping, planting, weeding, watering, pruning, mowing and general yard maintenance. Other jobs there include small landscaping projects, outdoor painting and preparation and sweeping/blowing.

    A current major project is creating access to a grotto in the rocks at the bottom of the garden which is home to a massive old figtree and is a refuge for local Koalas.

    Indoor work includes kitchen duties, bathroom and wet area cleaning, hanging and ironing washing, vacuuming and floor mopping .

    We will discuss this regularly.

    I have a strict no smoking policy on the property, it is just too easy to slip back into the obnoxious habit.

    My large dog George really loves long walks and endless pampering and will keep you company if patted and cooed.

    Finally a cool plunge pool and outdoor shower are wonderful after work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I will provide you with one of two beautiful bedrooms downstairs with new queen size beds furnished with linen and towels, each having expansive valley views, your own bathroom and wc. You also have the exclusive use of a study and furnished Verandas and Courtyards.

    NOTE that helpers have the exclusive use of a new modern kitchen and dining room to prepare and consume your own food which you provide.

    You have unrestricted 24/7 wireless access to fibre driven (FTTC NBN) from Telstra, which is Australia's finest and fastest at 50/20Mbps.

    In return I expect you to work for up to 15 hours a week usually three hours a day each morning, Monday through Friday.

    We may choose to eat dinner together, especially on Friday, market day, in which case we shall discuss costs and meal preparation, cleaning up etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mullumbimby is a quaint NSW country town with a friendly and somewhat hippy vibe, situated 15km North of Byron Bay, 5km South of Brunswick Heads and the Hinterlands. You'll find a good range of cafes and restaurants tucked away in town, as well as organic groceries, an olympic-size swimming pool and all the services you would expect of a well-respected town.

    Every Friday there is a Farmers Market with great food , music and fresh organic local produce - this is located at the Showgrounds , only 10 minutes walk away!

    There are some great tourist attractions close by such as the Crystal Castle and a huge choice of local waterfalls and beaches.

    Mullumbimby is extremely well located in Byron Shire for many of our internationally recognised festivals such as the Byron Bay Blues Fest, Splendour in the Grass, the Writers Festival, the Spirit Festival and, of course, the Mullumbimby Music Festival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week, usually 3 hours a day in the morning, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.8)

















Host ref number: 388189268672