updated  

Help me taking care of a country house in the wild heart of Tuscany, Arezzo, Italy

  • Favourited 530 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Nic and I was born in Tuscany, close to Arezzo, as my family decided to live in the countryside.
    Then we had to move to the city of Milan, where I grew up, but it's about years that I'm planning to come back here and start a new project of life.
    I've travelled a lot around the world, but I've never felt home as I feel in here.

    First of all I'm looking for a real help with all routinary activities such as cleaning the house, cooking meals etc. since most of the time we will share the same spaces and eat at the same table.

    After that I will ask to join me in all countryside activities that an old house with some land requires. Keep the place clean and tidy, take care of the garden and watering the plants when it's hot, take care of the wood, the heater and the fireplace when it's cold. Depending on the season there will always be a lot of stuff to do: weeding, trimming, digging etc.

    The rest of the time can be dedicated to artistic / artisanal activities. Here you will find wood, bamboo and some clay at your disposal inside a small laboratory with many interesting tools. I'm learning new techiniques to build traditional board games such as chess, domino, chinese checkers and many others, and would be a pleasure to find someone to share some new projects, learning and teaching to each others.
    If you already have artisanery skills or experiences would be much appreciated!

    The idea I always had in my mind about this place was trying to recycle and transform into something else what we usually waste or throw away: fruits, vegetables, tissues, wood etc. that can be trasformed into something useful.

    I don’t care about the gender, I’ve seen girls cutting woods better than guys and guys cleaning better than girls. This place is open to everyone that comes with a positive attitude, curiousity and open mind.

    I will try to reply to all request as soon as possible and if I'm interested I will try to arrange a videocall so we can have a real talk about reciprocal expectations.

    Bonus points if you know stuff about mechanicals!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I don't have any particular knowledge or skill, but I've spent here many time during my life and I can try to teach all I know and show the best hidden and private spots.

    Green and blue are the main colours you are gonna see here. The hill is grounded in the woods, so if you are lucky and patient enough you will discover how wild animals act in their natural habitat!

    Here you can learn many things, have the chance to cook with genuine ingredients and live in a real country house, practice your Italian and express your creativity in all the ways you want.

    FKK friendly

  • Help

    Help

    Daily activities such as cleaning and tidying up, cooking meals, taking care of the house and the garden will be required during the whole year depending on the season.


    * SUMMER

    Gardening:
    - Growing vegetables
    - Watering vegetables
    - Picking vegetables

    Vegetable garden:
    - Tomatoes
    - Aubergines
    - Eggplants
    - Cucumbers

    Watering plants: flowers and other plants in the garden

    Fruit picking: mulberries, plums, blackberries, figues, juniper berries etc.

    Tomato sauce


    * AUTUMN

    General gardening

    Firewood:
    picking, cutting, transporting and collecting firewood

    Fruit picking: olives, wallnuts, chestnuts, juniper berries, mushrooms etc.

    Fruit jams and other products

    Drying mushrooms

    Furnace alimentation and mantainance

    Autumnal vegetable garden:
    - lattuce
    - carrots
    - radish
    - fennels

    Watering plants if it's not raining


    * WINTER

    General gardening

    Furnace alimentation and maintenance

    Winter vegetable garden:
    - cabbages

    Greenhouse:
    - lattuce


    * SPRING

    Outdoor activities

    Gardening:
    - tree trimming
    - grass cutting
    - soil fertilisation
    - seeding
    - watering

    Vegetable garden:
    - salads
    - carrots
    - potatoes
    - legumes

    Watering plants if it's not raining

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would like to practice more Spanish and Portuguese or learn some German or other languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleep:
    The accommodation is free. The settlement would depend on the amount of people (relatives, friends and workers) but usually there are two rooms available inside the house: a single and a double with bathroom. So it can happen you will have to share room with other workawayers.

    Clothes:
    I suggest to bring the worse you have in your closet, long sleeves better but depends on the season and weather. Anyway there is a wardrobe full of stuff here both for working or domestic life. If you prefer to wear your owns, bring a pair of gloves for working. And don't forget your swimsuit, cause if it's sunny you will be rewarded for your help with a cold bath in the river!

    Towels and Sheets:
    All provided but if you have your own would be better.

    Arrival:
    Every day except Sunday there's a regional train/bus from Arezzo (30mins) to a small village 4 kms from my place, I will give you any further info. I can pick you up there, or for the more audacious and adventurer old school backpackers, there's a bus (10 mins) from there to the village and then less than 10 mins by walking to arrive right here ;)

    Please ask me in advance if you have any specific question, request or doubt.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here you will never get bored: there is an outdoor ping-pong table, a pool table, darts, lots of board games, hammocks, an equipped laboratory full of different tools from sawing to sewing, books and graphic novels, a lot of space for having a walk into nature.

    Other shared activities can be yoga, training, massages (I'm learning how to do Shiatsu) etc.

    There is a small village 5 mins by feet with a grocery store, and also the river is close.
    The closest train station is at 4 km, the city of Arezzo is 30 minutes far, Florence 90 minutes.

    If you wanna go for a small ride alone feel free, there is a mountain bike at your disposal. For a longer one you can organize by yourself with public transportations, there is a bus from the village to the closest train station.

    Or if I will be free during the weekend we can plan together where to go by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, I'm working on remote with a wi-fi service that can manage videocalls, streaming and so on.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a lot of space for vehicles near the house, but the road is a bit bumpy so maybe just ask me before and I will provide you any other info. Also tents are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 386991694997

Feedback (11)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Take part in our countryside self-sufficiency project near Noto in Sicily, Italy
Help out with our garden and dogs in rural Basilicata, Italy