Experience authentic village living and help me with DIY projects and painting in Boutenac, France

Country

France

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired international school teacher living my best life! I speak fluent French, German and English with a bit of Spanish and Bahasa Indonesia! I lived in France while growing up and consider it home but spent my adult life living in Germany, Hanoi, Bali and France. I am an American citizen.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a village of 800 people in southern France between Carcassonne and Narbonne. The ruins of Cathars castles perch on top of the surrounding hills, overlooking the vineyards of the Corbieres/Minervois region. We are near the Mediteranean coast and the pink flamingos in the wetlands there, as well as only an hour from the Spanish border (Barcelona is a three hour drive/train trip). Narbonne was the first Roman settlement in France and there are amazing ruins, digs and museums about this period.

  • Help

    Help

    Recently purchased old house needs some loving care: stripping paint off of doors, repainting walls, etc...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Indonesian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have been a teacher all my life and specialize in language acquisition for children, but am happy to practice my skills on adults!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with wifi. Shared kitchen/bath. Semi-private living room. Home cooked lunch provided daily and free access to kitchen. Some transport provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are great walks in the area and a small shop in the town. Major shopping is about 7 kms away and I usually make a trip every other day and can provide transport as needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a high speed internet connection that is quite dependable.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is street parking or for 20 EUROS per month there is a walled field across the street where you could park a vehicle securely.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a cat, but he likes most dogs. Cats probably not!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 639539553716