Help build a straw bale house and learn about eco construction in Zamora, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple who love nature, animals and music, we live in a thatched house and we have built ourselves a bigger one. We practice yoga and try to live a coherent life, learning, reading and being as humble and conscious as possible.

    We love cheerful, sincere and simple people.

    Walking, singing, travelling and dancing are our favourite activities. We have an ideal life companion, a wonderful cat that we adore like a daughter, she is very good and sociable.

    *️️*️️Please contact this host in Spanish*️️*️️

    Somos una pareja que amamos la naturaleza,los animales y la música,vivimos en una casa de paja y hemos autoconstruido otra un poco más grande. Practicamos yoga e intentamos tener una vida coherente ,aprendiendo ,leyendo y siendo lo más humildes y conscientes posible.
    Nos encanta la gente alegre sincera y sencilla.
    Pasear ,cantar, viajar o bailar son nuestras actividades favoritas. Tenemos una compañera de vida ideal,una gata maravillosa que adoramos como a una hija.Es muy buena y sociable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers in this project can learn about green building, thatch houses and the Nebraska technique, at least in theory because it is already built, but seeing it and giving explanations also helps to understand. The same goes for our recently completed Rocket stove, biofilters for purify gray water, a basic dry toilet, ecological garden and various topics on alternative and self-sustaining life. Direct contact with mother nature. Being able to also visit our beautiful city, Zamora, just 20 minutes away and get to know one of the cities with the largest number of Romanesque style churches, well preserved in the world and Salamanca 40 minutes away, wonderful and full of art of various styles, universities, music and culture. It is precisely in Zamora and Salamanca where the purest Spanish is spoken, being chosen by many university students to improve the pronunciation of our language. We share with love and sincerity and with the hope of learning from anyone, because we are all teachers. A hug.

    Los viajeros en este proyecto pueden aprender sobre construcción ecológica,casas de paja y la técnica Nebraska ,al menos en teoría porque ya está construida,pero verla y dar explicaciones también ayuda a entender.Lo mismo sucede con nuestra estufa Rocket recientemente terminada , biofiltros para depurar aguas grises,un baño seco básico , huerto ecológico y varios temas sobre vida alternativa y autosustentable. El contacto directo con la madre naturaleza. Pudiendo también visitar nuestra preciosa ciudad , Zamora, a sólo 20 minutos y conocer una de las ciudades con mayor número de iglesias de estilo románico , bien conservadas del mundo y Salamanca a 40 minutos ,maravillosa y llena de arte de varios estilos,universidades , música y cultura .Es precisamente en Zamora y Salamanca dónde se habla el Castellano más puro ,siendo elegido por muchos universitarios para mejorar la pronunciación de nuestro idioma.
    Compartimos desde el cariño y sinceridad y con ilusión de aprender de cualquier persona,pues todos somos maestros y maestras .Un abrazo.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have just finished most of the new straw house, but we are missing a lot of finishing and fixing the outside area, we also want to make a wooden room and various arrangements in the old thatch house, mostly it is DIY help, basic carpentry , gardening and miscellaneous; cleaning organization, vegetable garden etc.

    Acabamos de terminar la mayor parte de la casa nueva de paja,pero nos faltan muchos remates y arreglar la zona exterior, también queremos hacer una habitación de madera y varios arreglos en la antigua casa de paja.Sobre todo es ayuda en bricolaje, carpintería básica, jardinería y varios ; limpieza organización, huerto etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    New straw house or wooden room (next to the house where we live) or new straw house also, 200 meters from each other. depending on your needs, you can choose.
    You would have the use of the beautiful new thatched house for the first time, although it lacks some things, such as aesthetic repairs and hot water, which is important, but for the showers we share the other house and we all eat in the old house which is 200 metres away along a beautiful path in the forest.

    Casa de paja o habitación de madera nueva( al lado de la casa dónde vivimos) o casa de paja nueva también,a 200 metros una de la otra. dependiendo de tus necesidades,puedes elegir.
    Estrenarías la preciosa nueva casa de paja, aunque le faltan cosas, son arreglos estéticos y el agua caliente ,eso sí es importante pero, para las duchas compartimos la otra casa y comemos todos en la casa vieja que están a 200 metros de distancia por un bonito camino en el bosque.Si elijes la habitación de madera,está al lado nuestro,pero independiente.Aclaramos las dudas encantados,pues no sabemos explicarlo mejor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not speak English, we have a very low level, but we would love to learn more if people who speak English come.

    We have a kitten very good.
    Our life is quiet and what we value most of our places is the peace and joy of living in contact with nature, we like to travel and learn from all the people and situations that life offers us, personal growth and improve our lives internally it is one of our paths. THANKS FOR INTEREST.

    No hablamos ingles,tenemos un nivel muy bajo,pero nos encantaria aprender mas si vinieran personas de habla inglesa

    Nuestra vida es tranquila y lo que mas valoramos de nuestros lugares es la paz y la alegria de vivir en contacto con la naturaleza,nos gusta viajar y aprender de todas las personas y situaciones que nos ofrece la vida,el crecimiento personal y mejorar nuestras vidas a nivel interior es una de nuestros caminos.GRACIAS POR EL INTERES.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Cualquier tamaño

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.6)












Host ref number: 183613384157