Help with Alpaca farm in mountains of Silesia, Poland

  • Poland
  • Favourited 247 times
  • Last activity: 08/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi there Workawayers ! My name is Jan and I was born in the UK but with a Polish father. I invested in our property about 18 years ago in the plan to create a mini hotel to provide activity breaks but then ended up part way through the renovations finding my IT business needing more of my time. I met my wife Dorota who was a local girl in the local town 15 years ago and we have been trying to bridge our language barrier ever since ! We have a 11 year old daughter together and 5 grown up chidren from previous marriages. We love our life here together and I have recently decided to retreat again from the business life and set about completing the dream to spend time helping visitors enjoy their time here. We are currently have a small Alpaca herd for the visitors in the area to come and spend time hiking with the animals. The home we leave in is an ex farmhouse that dates back to 1790 with lots of character.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area we live in is a very popular tourist region particularly for Polish , German and Czech visitors. They come to swieradow mainly for the beautiful mountain forests to hike and bike and take in the superb vcountryside. My wife grew up in the area and her family are all based in the region. Her father Antoni is a retired forester that headed up the plantation of the forests that now run for thousands of Acres in the mountains of the area. Any visitors will get the opportunity to learn about Polish life including the food , the culture and of course if they would taste the vodka ! We have alot of visitors from other parts of Poland and Germany so we always spend alot of time socilaizing and sharing stories. Since I am from England originally any workaway guest will be able to communicate in english while they work on their local language.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently are trying to get our barn cleared and a concrete floor laid to become a shop. Anyone wth any building experience is desperately needed to help out.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a large 6 bedroomed ex farmhouse with one part of the house actually dating back to 1790. You will be staying in a caravan on our garden which is modern and comfortable. You will have access to a shower room, the downstairs lounge which has a superb vaulted ceiling and wood burning stove. You can also use the kitchen for preparation of any meals that you choose to . We will supply standard items such as bread ,milk , cereals , coffee etc. My wife is an excellent cook and will share preparation of evening meals typically freshly prepared which will be included in your workaway plan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your stay we would expect that you might well want to visit some of the local european cities such as prague (2 hours) Berlin (3 hours) and wroclaw (2 hours). For those who enjoy sporting activities their is a ski run and the best singletrack mountain biking tracks both about 2 miles away!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 386988826374

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with an NGO promoting diversity and tolerance in Polish countryside.
Come and help us around our house and garden in Czarna Dolna, Poland