Help on our fruit and vegetable farm in Tianzhong City, Taiwan

Country

Taiwan

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    745

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My English name is Yoyu and I live in Tianzhong City, Taiwan with my wife and four kids (ages 7months, 3, 6, and 9). I run my own farm, primarily focused on growing dragon fruit along with many other fruits and vegetables (lemon, mango, ba le guava, peach, papaya, banana, loquat, peppers, squashes). On my dragon fruit farm we also have many chickens, ducks, geese, dogs, and a wonderful little pig. I also have a substantial chunk of land that I have made into a rice paddy. I do not use any pesticides, herbicides, or fungicides - everything I grow is completely organic. I also create my own liquid fertilizer through the fermentation of compost. We are excited to have new friends come to learn and help on our farm and will welcome you into our family with open arms - and lots of yummy home cooked meals!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn what a truly organic farm looks like and the work it takes to grow fruits and vegetables without any harmful additives to alter the natural growth process. They can also learn how to make their own natural fertilizers and take part in my class of adult learners expanding their knowledge about organic farming (if scheduling coincides). In addition, they can have the chance to live and experience the life of a farming family in (relatively) rural Taiwan, eat and learn how to cook traditional Taiwanese foods, and meet many fun and friendly new people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly a volunteer would help with daily farm work as needed in our dragon fruit farm or rice field. For example, this may include feeding the animals, tending to the dragon fruit and other plants, weeding, etc. The help needed would largely be dependent on the cycle of fruit growth. Volunteer hours tend to be around 4 to 6 hours depending on what needs to be done. Typical days I wake up around 6am, have a quick breakfast and work from around 7am til 10am when I break for lunch and afternoon break, then resume work around 3 or 4 for a couple hours if needed. I am known to be a patient, mindful, and thorough teacher and welcome eager, helpful, and inquisitive learners ready and willing to expand their skillset. Because of our rather limited English speaking abilities, a volunteer who has at least conversational knowledge of the Chinese language would be most preferred. That way, we can communicate more meaningfully and become friends :)

  • Languages spoken

    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the amount of people volunteering, you could live with our family or live in our other house which is closer to the farm. The house we live in is less than five minutes from the other house/farm, so we would still be very closeby! In both places, there is wood panel bed platform for sleeping, air conditioner, hot water, electricity and TV, refrigerator. The house we live in has Wifi. For the most part, you are welcome to have your meals with us! There might be times that we have family things that would make eating together inconvenient; in these cases, we will let you know ahead of time and tell you convenient and affordable places to explore and get some yummy food on your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many closeby for exercise and playing sports, going fishing or catching shrimp, and getting local Taiwanese foods. We are also located near Bagua Mountains and Sun Moon Lake. There is closeby access to the TianZhong train station (which has high speed train) and local buses. You can also use a bike if needed. Mostly, I am happy to take you places and explore together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5



Host ref number: 386971478551