Foodie Family of Three. Seeking help with their garden, chickens and home. Rural, Northwest Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated   Last minute

Favourited 326 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    91  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    356

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple with an 8 year old son.
    Our paradise is 9 acres 40 minutes drive Northwest of Auckland, near a small village called Waimauku. The 9 acres is set on a hill sandwiched between two large farms.
    6 of our 9 acres is protected native New Zealand bush with mature trees including Kauri, Puriri, Rimu and Nikau. It's an extremely private spot and our house is nestled into the hill over looking the bush. There is great bird song, minimal light pollution and on clear night a spectacular nightscape.
    Our house is 20 years old and was built to be completely independent of nationally supplied electricity. Thus we generate all our electricity from 12 solar panels. A generator tops up on the few times through out the year that the sun does not shine enough to meet our needs. Water is heated via gas so hot showers are guaranteed regardless of the weather. We enjoy a large log fire during the winter. However it doesn't get very cold here with only occasional frosts during the winter.
    As food and wine lovers, and meals are very important to us. We always cook from scratch and aim for mostly organic produce. We are meat eaters who often enjoy a glass of wine or craft beer. During the summer we love to dine outdoors at which time the charcoal BBQ and the Pizza oven are an important extension of our kitchen.
    Homemade cheese features on our menu. We get the milk unprocessed from a local farm.
    Hens are our thing, we have about 30 pastured, heritage breed layers and each year raise about 50 chicks and also a few ducklings.
    Our vegetables garden are a continual work in progress. They don't provide 100% of our needs but there is always at something seasonal and super fresh on offer.
    We are 20 minutes away from one of New Zealand's best surf beaches, Muriwau and 30 minutes from beautiful east coast swimming beaches, 40 mins to Auckland City (outside of peak times). Also close by are vineyards, thermal hot pools, a brew pub, mountain bike parks, horse riding, sky diving, fishing, cruises on the Kaipara Harbour, bush walks (some with water falls), Gibbs farm and other sculpture trails, Shops are all with a 10 minute drive.
    Sharing all this gives us great pleasure and extras in the house is fun for us.
    We've hosted over 70 people in the last five years. We take our hosting responsibilities very seriously, please read our extensive positive feedback comments.
    If our way of life appeals to you we would love to hear from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A very peaceful environment.
    All our guests are treated to excellent food and wine, some of which will be grown here, raised here or made here which they may be an integral part of.
    Chris is very knowledgeable on fine dining and is a fully qualified wine expert and Natalie in nutrient dense food as prepared slowly and traditionally.
    The opportunity to learn to make cheese.
    Learn to kill and process roosters and ducks ready for eating. (It's easier than you think and only if you want to be involved)
    New Zealand's unique flora and fauna are literally right outside the front door.
    If you're inclined there are possums to be hunted.
    Chris is from the UK. So we are a mix of European and New Zealand culture. We like to think the best of old and new worlds.

  • Help

    Help

    We are busy juggling away from home work, being parents as well as meeting our goals for our property/ home. Thus there is a plethora of things to done and we really value help.
    Depending on your skill set and what you feel comfortable with.
    Outside tasks could include; Line trimming, feeding hens, mowing lawns, harvesting produce, vegetable gardening, pruning, tree felling, culling roosters, tending to the evening fire and chopping wood,
    Inside tasks such as: Sweeping and vacuuming, hanging out washing, cleaning windows and floors, making cheese, helping to prepare an evening meal, washing dishes.
    Taking time to converse with our son and encourage him in his play and homeschooling. This might include coming up with activities suitable for a 8 year old boy. From helping him with his school work or complete a jigsaw puzzle, even allowing him to dig along side you in the garden. He loves being outside and we believe that should be encouraged. If you build a rapport with him childminding could be included as a task.
    We are happy to have singles or couples and find best is people who are happy to work on their own.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a comfortable double room in our house with a rural outlook and a Queen sized bed. The room also has wardrobe and drawer storage. Adjacent to the room is a family bathroom which you will share with our son. The shower is awesome but in the summer we need to be mindful of water usage so we ask that you keep your showers to 5 mins max)
    The house is modern and warm.
    There is unlimited broadband.
    We do not have terrestrial TV. Favouring movies instead played on our multi zone DVD player or netflicks
    All appliances are switched off at the wall while we are sleeping to minimise power usage.
    You have your own shelf in the pantry and free range of our fridge. Breakfasts and lunches are to be prepared by you from our well stocked pantry, garden and fridge. Evening meals we all eat together as a family.
    It is an important part of hosting workawayers for us is to share this evening meal. Our evening meal almost always comprises of some meat and sauces made with meat based broth, we've found in the past catering for vegetarians or vegans doesn't suit us. We can however easily accommodate gluten free or low carb type diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Auckland but public transport through out New Zealand is patchy. We are happy to collect and deliver you to and from the bus stop Kumeu. Or if times line up with our trips in and out of the city, from central Auckland. However if you are staying in New Zealand for some time we really recommend you purchase a cheap car as it really is the best and most economical way to see lots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Talk to us about what you needs are, we can usually tweak things to accommodate anyone interested in sharing our lifestyle.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our guest room.
Our family / guest bathroom.
We get spectacular sunsets.
The garden.
Muriwai Beach. One of New Zealand's best surf beaches and our local. An easy 20 minute drive.
We love cheese and especially enjoy home made using local unprocessed milk.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























































Host ref number: 386372266853