Come and help with general maintenance in West Perth, Australia. Enjoy local life here!

Country

Australia

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I've volunteered through workaway and other platforms in the past and loved it. Now it's my time to be a host! I irrigated avocados in byron bay, built a bamboo house in San Isidro, renovated a monastry in Galicia, trained horses in Charentes, painted in Bridgetown and gardened in Bailingup and so hopefully can provide the same welcome, sense of community and skills to you! This is my first time hosting, so hopefully I will learn as I go

    I’m Irish born, and a qualified mining engineer. I’ve lived in Zimbabwe and New Zealand and travelled quite a bit. I have a funny accent, and I speak a little bit of French and Spanish too. I have set up a commercial kitchen before, and enjoy getting together all the trades and skills that it takes to transform a building into a new business.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're staying at the daycare centre, you'll be situated in the heart of the beautiful perth where you can explore the river and beaches and get involved in the local music, nightlife and sports. I'll help you explore and provide bicycles to get round the city. If you can drive, we a spare car, or the camper van may be available for longer journeys to explore the beautiful forests of the south, pemberton, the surfing coastline, the wheatbelt internally or the majestic north with it's gorges and pinnacles. I have a varied background and have adapted to the Australian lifestyle, so are happy to talk to you about all and everything. I'll introduce you to other friends and people working on the project and hopefully be part of a very memorable experience for you!

  • Help

    Help

    Hi! I'm preparing to set up a boutique Vintage Themed dog daycare in a huge building that used to be a scout hall. The business will not be open when you are volunteering with us, but some of the tasks will be preparing the building for the future. *️️️️️️️️️The Dog daycare will not be operating during the volunteering period*️️️️️️️️️. However the business downstairs has a most beautiful cavalier king charles spaniel to play with! We'll start working on it in , and will be doing setup till May. We’re currently getting permits and electricity connected.

    A lot of effort will go into making the design and theme just right, with plants, hanging baskets, paintings and small details. There will be lots to do - helping put the flooring in, lots of painting and decorating, design, some cleaning and applying any handyman skills you may have. If you can drive you might find yourself collecting plants one day, or planning doorframes the next. We’ll be working with other people to get the centre ready, including flooring, carpentry, air con installation, roofers etc, so it will be an interesting opportunity to see how it’s set up. I also wholeheartedly welcome any marketing, website, IT or book-keeping skills too!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, v basic french and v basic spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have some different options available. Firstly we have a pretty cool camping van that we've custom decorated. You'll never see anything quite like it. It is complete with beds and kitchenette that we can use parked in the Daycare yard. Check out the van in the pictures. This is only available at some times - depending on who's using it.

    We'll also be able to set up beds in the centre which has showers and bathroom and lots of space while we're renovating it, but I have to wait for power and water to be turned on. There are over 5 private rooms so you can take your pick and a bed and mattress with towels and fresh linen will be provided for both options There is picture of the back of the property showing how we plan to paint it up. The location is 1km from the city centre, and transport to everywhere is so easy - there's over 20 bus routes and the central Perth train station within a km. You'll be right in the heart of everything. You can walk to the pubs and clubs of Perth and the beach and Fremantle are a short bus ride /train ride away.

    The third option is what we'll most probably be using at the very start: I live in a house in Fremantle with spare room that is now my base. It is an old rambling house with an orchard in the back and wooden floors, and it needs some work and furnishing. However it is still relatively comfortable to live in. Fremantle is a very bohemian area with a thriving permaculture and music scene, with beaches and café’s an easy cycle away. I can still provide bikes and sometimes use of a car. I’m 4kms here from the beach and the main café strip, and the bus stop is not far from the house. If you're staying here we'd drive to the Dog Daycare every work-day for work, and then you'd have a choice of either exploring the city, going back to the base or being dropped elsewhere.


    Food will be provided for the volunteers to make their own Breakfast- cereals , milk, tea coffee, eggs toast and fresh fruit and vegetables. For lunch and dinner either all the ingredients will be provided or we’ll have a communal meal together depending on the circumstances and whether it’s a work day or not. I love to cook but rarely get the opportunity to cook for more than one person so I’m looking forward to it. We will all have a go at cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your work shifts, we can shuffle these round as you like, or do fewer, longer days. We might not always have work for you to do! If the van's available you’re welcome to bring it away on your days off and I can show you some really cool places to go too. Most years I go to Blazing Swan in the desert (which is the Western Australian version of Burning Man Festival) and will be setting up a Theme camp and dance rig, so if you’re around in April you're welcome to come with too, and I can set you up with all you need. I'll provide you with all the essentials to cook your own food and once the kitchenette is in place, we’ll have some shared meals at the premises too.
    I'm looking ideally for mature-minded volunteers who are happy to do jobs at their own pace and direct themselves. Hopefully you’re hands on with a can-do attitude. Extra points if you’re confident using a ladder. I'm more than happy to teach you anything that interests you (if I know how to:-)), and perhaps you can teach me too! Ideally two friends or a couple. I will not always be at the property so it will best suit people who want to get out an about and explore the area too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 383176253214