Help us to bring back the beauty of nature, gardening and renovations in a protected area in Mellensee, south of Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    467

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my Name ist Dirk, I am a biologist and I am working for WWF on conservation of the Amazon. My wife is Pamela, a bolivian-german citicen, working as a physiotherapist in a Hospital. We live near Berlin, around one hour by regional Train to the south next to a beautyfull lake. We just built a house with two guest rooms on our 7500 squaremeters big Terrain. Half of it is a protected area (Landschaftsschutzgebiet). We are between a channel (that leads directly to the lake) and a small stream, and of course the lake called Mellensee on the other side of a street. We are travelling each day to Berlin where we work.

    Our house and garden are our project at the Moment, we are trying to get back the original nature which was mainly destroyed during the last 80 years. That means cutting "Alien" trees as cypress and cutting Wood etc., improving the garden part of the ground, building a fire place, building small walks, building a Mooring for our boats (a Kajak, a Canadian, a paddle boat and a Windsurfing board). Additionally we have the smaller Buildings which we want to renovate and get back to use.

    We love animals (we have two cats and in our garden deers, foxes, Otters in the stream and many other animals), love going by boat or swimming in the lake, have People around us (we have many international friends visiting us regularly) and we speak very good German, English, Spanish, and a bit portuguese. We also have a vegetable garden where we try to provide our selfes with salads, some fruits and other vegetables.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My wife and me have a very close connection to south america (I lived 11 years in Bolivia, she is Bolivian), so we speak spanisch really good (additonally to german and english). We both love making Music, guitar playing and mainly singing (we both sing in a band). We have a big Group of international friends (spain, colombia, peru, Chile, Bolivia, brazil etc.). The area we live is very touristic due to the lake where you can do water Sports (we have a Canadian a Kajak, Windsurfing board and a paddle boat) or fishing, or simply swim. The longest Skating Trail is near and Berlin is easily to reach with regional Train (we do it every day).

  • Help

    Help

    Cutting Wood, maintaining and improving the vegetable garden , building small walks, helping with the house, cutting pasture, cooking. Very welcome are Persons who have experience working with Wood, Building or gardening, but we also learned everything from beginning.

    People who can cook are welcome as well as musicians.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a beautifull house in the middle of a green garden surrounded by water (a lake, a stream and a channel). The house has two fully equipped guest rooms. Every guest can use our bycicles or the boats we have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    totally flexible, enjoy the stay and help where you can and like

Kajak and Canadian, free to use
Our cat and one of "our" foxes
The kitchen
Me, Dirk, making nonsense during cunstruction of the house
Pamela in front of the frozen lake in january
Der Mellensee
Host ref number: 381839333134