Permaculture, gardening, natural building, todler and farm animal care and more near Maple Grove, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two young children living in an old farm house. Generally there is a friend or a few staying in the cabin and currently there are 10 chickens, 2 ducks, 3 cats and a dog. We live on a beautiful piece of land that is mostly wooded with some burgeoning orchards, lots of garden and various building projects. We're working towards having a more sustainable home stead, and we have planted over 100 fruit and nut trees and over 80 berry bushes (but still have an other 100 to plant:). We're creating a nature retreat and there are currently three private "cabins" for friends, exchangers or rent with two more "cabins" on the go and a lot more ideas. We aim to be a community gathering space for celebration, learning, art and healing. We've hosted events including a electronic music festivals, a direct action training focused on land defense, alternative building workshops, a Star Hawk gathering on Spirit and Action and a few smaller community events. This year we're organizing a workshop on raising and butchering chickens, some sort of natural building workshop and possibly a Non Violent Communication retreat.

    We love having people stay with us and feel that we have a lot to offer. The spaces for exchangers are private and well stocked. There are many different tasks to choose from and its likely that there will be something that will fit our needs and the exchanger's desires. And the space here is magical. There is a river just a 10 min walk away and lots of hiking trails.

    These days (having a new born) we're pretty absorbed in our family. We generally love meeting new people, sharing meals and jamming around the fire but our free time lately is less and lately we leave the camp fires before dark. So its nice to have people who are relatively independent.

    The nature of exchange depends on the time, the project and the person but we tend towards preferring to exchange fewer hours (3 a day, 5 days a week) and to supply kitchen space but leave food purchasing to the exchanger.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a community and living and working together is a central part of what we do. This takes, practice, intention and means sharing and playing. Sometimes the property is quiet and slow. But other times there are visitors, friends, work exchangers and passers by who all bring their own enthusiasm, ideas and rich contributions to the social life of this space.

    We are always experimenting with new and old forms of gardening, building and living. Most of us wouldn't identify as experts in any of it but we have experience we're happy to share and enthusiasm for trying things together. We love cloning perennials, grafting apple trees, taping maple trees for syrup, foraging mushrooms, fiddle heads and herbs, cooking with local food. We enjoy building the old ways with clay and straw and trying the new ways with aircrete and geodesic domes. We're half way through setting up a aquaponics system in a shipping container and greenhouse.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are working on many different things through the days and are open to establishing a work focus and flow that is mutually beneficial. We always have lots of gardening and planting and managing perennials to do. We are doing landscaping to make spaces beautiful for ourselves and community events. We are always building. Fixing up the old farm house, painting, finishing the plaster on the aircrete dome, building other spaces in the woods on the land (we dream of a sauna). There is always moving brush, wood chipping, taking care of the chickens. There might be stacking fire wood, spreading hay, organizing tools and mowing grass. And there is child care for our 3 year old.

    We're pretty open to hosting anyone who feels like a good fit. It is definitely nice to have people with carpentry experience or a willingness to learn. There is a lot of heavy manual labour that its nice to have help with but if moving brush isn't your thing there will always be weeds to pull:)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a few spaces outside that will be available depending on the needs of the time. There is a renovated school bus and a rustic cabin that both have privacy, a double mattress, stocked kitchenette with a cook stove, sink and fridge. There are outdoor hot showers and composting toilets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a stream a walk away in the woods and a pond just before the trees. There is a river 10 minutes walking and an old rail way trail that takes you on hikes in a few directions. 30 minutes walking are the Maitland bat caves set into towering gypsum cliffs. And just 5 minutes walking is a grandmother maples tree that looks after the sprawling fields.
    We live 10 min from the Bay of Fundy beaches with the highest tides in the world. We swim at high tide and walk the mud flats at low. We are 5 minutes from the Shubenacadie river that flows into the bay at times and is filled by the bay at others. There are many tourist companies offering rafting trips that cruse the giant tidal bore wave that comes at the tide's turn. Oh! And there is a canoe and a lake 3 minutes away.

    Swiming when its warm is a common thing. Its nice to have a suit or be prepared to be nude. Hummm... what else? Bugs can be bad in the evenings. It clay heavy soil so rubber boots are nice when its wet. We have an electric piano and a few guitars and drums you are welcome to use but if you bring your instrument than there will be more available for jamming:)

    Lastly... The vibe and work here can vary greatly between day and season. Sometimes its a full social spot and sometimes its just a few hermits. Sometimes there is repetitive labour and sometimes creative art. If there is something that you are particularly attracted to feel free to check in with us to make sure it will be part of your stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space for a camper to be parked and can supply an extention cord and water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they don't chase our chickens or cats:)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 381819588376