Explore the luscious Bay Of Islands, New Zealand and help with projects on our beautiful lands

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kerikeri,

    The Land...
    The house is situated on 10 acres of beautiful and healing lands, we have rich and fertile soil, flowing water and a native forest (which includes a breath taking swimming hole.) Our goal is to create a bio diverse, food forest and sanctuary for those in need. The land offers so much space, from bush walks, meditation, yoga to those summer time swims. It’s truly the perfect space for those whom enjoy a holistic way of life. Located just Eight Minutes drive from Kerikeri and Five to Waipapa location wise it offers both convenience and privacy. The local town has everything we need, in summer the neighbouring towns of Russel and Pihia become a great place to grab an evening drink and to explore.

    The House...
    Currently we have 2 rooms available in our beautiful 4-bedroom bungalow, we also have an additional self contained guest house that can be utilised. The house sits atop of a 14m Waterfall and boasts much character.
    We have plenty of room in the house; with just Myself (Matt) and my partner Franzi you will have enough privacy or interaction as you desire. Winter is a bit of a hibernation period for us here, but we make use of the breaks in the weather and get outside tackling landscaping, gardening and maintenance projects.

    I'd love to host any community focused, friendly travellers, artisans and grafters.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on the season, there is so much to experience in the Bay of islands. Winter might suit someone who's looking to focus on their arts, hobbies and enjoy the winterless north. I love to share my knowledge and skills, and treat every exchange as a mutually beneficial arrangement. Summer time you will enjoy the true nature of our subtropical climate. I love to cook and share stories of misadventures around our fire.

  • Help

    Help

    Our Workawayer's can participate in many ways and we are always looking for new ideas and fresh perspectives. More than half of our land is covenant forrest (Protected native bush). This requires us to help remove invasive species (such as Gorse, taiwan cherry and wild ginger) whilst propagating and planting natives throughout. We are in the early stages of building a food forrest so those with knowledge in permaculture and hydroelectricity are encouraged to join us. I am currently in the midst of building a barn/workshop so any construction trade experience welcomed.
    The land lends itself to the Artists, the passionate culinary wizards and creative minds. Those like myself whom enjoy the oudoor physical aspect can assist in landscaping and gardening. We will work around the weather, being winter some days may involve baking, vacuuming and having a tidy whilst other days may involve a few hours in the garden moving stones, cutting gorse or collecting firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is two rooms to choose from inside our main villa. The Red room, featuring a large whimsical space suited to the writer, musician or couple. The white room is small and simple with access to an outdoor bath for ultimate relaxation of the senses. The house has 3 toilets and large flowing design.
    There is also a beauitful self contained guesthouse/studio for the long term guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kerikeri is rather quiet over winter, lucky winter doesn't last more then a few months up here in Northland.
    We love to have fun and connect with the greater community, sometimes its over some hard work but its always rewarded with some kind of adventure. I am a burner, loving the arts and all things eccentric. It's not uncommon to find us working on a flame thrower or death defying rope swing.
    If you love hiking, beach combing and the outdoors there's plenty of places to discover both on and off the property in the far north. Public transport is non existent up here so to make the most of the area its best to have your own vehicle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 319433367587