Help with our family horses in Galway, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small private yard with two dressage horses who are part of the family. We would love someone to join us to help with the daily care of the horses and the maintenance of the yard. During the week the chores required are usually light and involve the turning out of the horses and bringing them in, as well as some yard maintenance (levelling arena's, keeping the yard tidy, some gardening/landscaping). At weekends help travelling to shows or attending training with would be asked. This is not for riding but might suit someone with an interest in dressage/horses. Basic experience in handling horses would be great.

    Loughrea is a beautiful town which boasts many amenities such as the beautiful lake, nearby Slieve Aughty mountains, tennis courts, golf club and variety of wonderful bars and restaurants. We are also very fortunate to have excellent transport links to Galway (30 mins by bus) and Dublin ( 2 hours) .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Loughrea is an ideal base from which to travel and explore Ireland. We will of course also help you to improve your English language skills. We are a very friendly family and will certainly do our best to show a warm Irish welcome to whomever joins us.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love for someone who has experience with horses, preferably warmbloods/sport horses to help with the daily turnout of the horses, general care, grooming , some mucking out, and to help with travel to shows/ dressage training events.

    We would also welcome someone who can help with the regular maintenance of the arena's, grazing paddocks and the gardening/weeding etc.

    Ideally we are looking for someone who is interested in a minimum 3- 6 month period. We would ideally love someone who was aged over 25,who is responsible, reliable and can take direction.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own accommodation in comfortable guest room with en suite within the main house. The yard is situated a 5-10 minute walk from the house but very accessible. The house is located a ten minute walk to the centre of Loughrea but we are adjacent to the main hotel in the town and the main shopping centre is a mere 2-3 min walk from the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Galway city (city of the Tribes) with its bustling nightlife and Summer festivals is only 30 mins away and has excellent transport links. The Cliffs of Moher and the Burren in Co. Clare are approx 1 hour away. Mayo is a similar distance. With travel to shows an excellent opportunity to see lots of Irish countryside with regular travel to Kildare, Mayo, Dublin, Cavan and Wicklow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 379572418428