Come and help us in our soon-to-be cultural centre in Chihuahua, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The house was built my great grandmother in 1929 and it has always belong to our family. It is located in the city center of Chihuahua, not very far from the train station. We are 2 living here, Bowie the dog and myself.

    We are a small guest house trying to become a cultural centre. Currently we have 3 rooms that we rent on daily basis, and one extra apartment one block away. We also have a small music academy and we are soon opening a restaurant. A small book store should follow.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m very helpful!
    We speak English, French and Italian, besides obviously Spanish. If you want to practice your Spanish but also being able to proper communicate with someone, there is that. Chihuahua it’s a good spot if you are heading south or north, to the Cooper Canyon or Texas. Also, my family is always here, so it’s a good opportunity to get to know the North Mexican culture. Also, we cook quite often, so it is also a good opportunity to learn some Mexican cuisine.

  • Help

    Help

    Work won’t be much. Right now, and because I have a job, it’s more about cleaning the house. We do it all together, and it normally goes for 30 or 45 minutes. That is every day, from 11 am to 12 pm. We are also working in the restaurant, so every now and then we will do things in there, like painting and so on. We are also refurbishing the house, and even if we have managed to make a lot of progress, most likely we will be still working on the general maintenance of the house.
    Also, just have someone here it’s already a great help, since I am not always in the house, and sometimes I am not available to greet our guests, so you could help with that.
    Also, any computer help, specially regarding social networking is always welcome, since I suck for that!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide a small bed / mattress. Your room will be private, but since we keep some things there, sometimes we would have to go inside, always asking you first of course. We have a kitchen that you can use, WiFi, and hot water. We could also provide you with a bicycle. Our Dog Bowie, will gladly provide with cuddles under request.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ghost-less house, we think.

    We decide to start doing this because, randomly, we got someone to help, Nico from France, and he has been so great that we would like to keep the good streak.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 378467646173