Help our family project of cultural and social development in Odemira, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a 7ha land, a place, a home and as soon as possible also a project of cultural and social development. We... we are a family of 3 (2 children and Myself + Poxissi the cat.
    Our land is still at a very early stage, the aim is to bring life, art and culture to this land, but also to the surrounding localities.
    There is a huge potential set in an incredible scenery.
    ...however... nothing happens on its own... and we need help, input, output, cool_ab_orations, advice, skills, networks and friendships to flourish.
    More info to follow : )
    I am an artist...experienced traveler>>>meaning I have been on your side of the fence>>>and yes bio_organic all the way...solar power fountain water off grid eco futuristic *️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Immediately what springs to mind is the fact that the area is of an extreme and wild beauty, so visiting the area and its surrounding attractions, getting to know the local traditions, interacting with the local population as well as with the extensive amount of foreigners that also live around and who visit the large communities that exist within a 15km radio (these iclude Germans, English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Indian... you name it!).
    Furthermore there are lakes, rivers, beaches, mountains, outdoor activities; but also other people who moved from the big cities and are experiencing farm life, off-grid and alternative living.
    The cultural and personal exchange can be so extensive that it will be hard to pin-point, but learning how to grow organic food, experiencing off grid daily routines, composting (both food and human residues), learning/teaching languages, experiencing life as a local, developing an arts project (come on!...we have the space and the tools : ), praticing/teaching yoga or other sports (I am into bodysurf --- and the ocean), meditation and self development as there are big spiritual centers nearby but just being in nature and living off the land is very self empowering all together. One of us is also involved with major music events which may lead to other collaborations and networking possibilities... and so on ... and so on ... there is so much an exchange can provide we could be here for hours on end...

  • Help

    Help

    A bit of everything depending on skills, time available, season, and will power!!!
    As mentioned previously our land is still coming to life. Eventually the home will be finished and the art residencies will be able to start. There is also the objective of setting up a cultural center in the nearest village (...but that will come...everything at the right time).
    In terms of help needed at the moment: garden + vegetable garden (needs to start happening asap), building/repairing/plastering walls out of sustainable material (earth, sand, lime), some carpentry jobs such as erecting fences using local and recycled wood, some small water systems jobs, going shopping (that's always an immense task ;), small roof building (redoing an old pig's house), making steps out of earth and stone, clean the whel (that should be wet and fun!), streaming bushes and herbs, helping with the cooking and if inclined playing with the children, teaching a foreign language/a skill, conceptually and strategically developing a project (this could mean also applying for grants and funds (so if your thing is more to move your brains rather than your physical body...we also need assistance in those regards, trimming/pruning trees and collecting fruits (at the moment there are about only 4 trees to pick fruit from :( hence another bit of help needed is to do with planting trees/reforestation, several other small, medium and major size jobs odd jobs
    We are also great enthusiasts of land art, therefore we'd like to invite everyone that visits (in case they wish to) to create a piece of artwork to remain on the land...
    Get in touch, and come and have a look!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, French, English, Spanish, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    May vary (depending on time of year and availability) but we can provide:
    > camping tent
    > motor home (fully equipped with power, double bed, dining table, kitchen and sink facilities)
    > room (the sooner we get help, the sooner we'll have more and better rooms for all our guests)

    Being new to this means we are also a little flexible and will be happy to further discuss things more in detail.
    Food will be provided for the 2 main meals, breakfast and snacks at your own will. Coffee and tea on tap... ; )

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off is at your own will... a range of experiences are available in the surroundings (see above)
    Can also join for group activities, or on you own. Local transport is scarce so preferably w drivers license (car can be provided, reserved the right to refuse depending on experience). Or lifts can be arranged. Bicycles can be provided, also horses nearby.
    There are a series of self-sustainable, eco-focused, or spiritual derived communities within a 15km range (Tamera, Mooji, Permalab, and others). Only about 70km to the south coast of Algarve.
    Loads of sunshine all year round (aprox 320 days per year).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week


Host ref number: 378438857379