We need help to rescue beautiful farm in Calbuco, Chile



Favourited 240 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hello! I am a 33 year old woman who has two daughters (3 and 8 years old) and wants to create a new life in a beautiful farm of 40 hectares owned by my family. We live near the sea, we have forests, a variety of fruits and a big wood building built by my father, which is used for tourism. I am back here since two years ago and I have been working hard to rescue this place. The help of workaway volunteers who have come here has been essential, I am very gratefull and have learnt a lot from this process. I need help to continue working and reach the goal which is that the principal activity here work well, which is eco tourism. Your help is very important in this stage, because I live alone with my daughters, this is my project of life! Come with me and we will finished this experience full of good moments and cultural exchange in the middle of the nature. Thank you.

    Hola! Soy una mujer de 33 años con dos hijas pequeñas ( 3 y 8 años ) que busca dar nueva vida a una hermosa granja de 40 hectáreas propiedad de la familia. Nos encontramos a orillas del mar, tenemos bosques, variedad de frutas y un gran espacio construido por mi padre, totalmente en madera ,como centro de eventos . Estoy de regreso hace más de dos años y he trabajado duro para rescatar este lugar. Los voluntarios del mundo han sido cooperación esencial , estoy muy agradecida y he aprendido mucho en el proceso. Necesito ayuda para continuar y lograr que la actividad principal sea el ecoturismo. En esta etapa es vital tu ayuda pues estamos a punto de lograrlo mediante alianzas pero ,soy una madre sola ¡ este es mi proyecto de vida ! Acompáñame y seguro terminaremos enriquecidos por el intercambio humano, cultural y de experiencias en medio de la Naturaleza . Muchas gracias .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Have the opportunity to learn about life in the field, the activities involved in direct contact with nature. I promise to share with you respectfully. I can share with you everything I know, you will learn about gastronomy, including the local gastronomy. You can collect food from the sea, forest and soil. You can learn to cut wood with the axe, construction, animal care and our culture and language. Everithing is not work, it includes accomodation, talks near the stove in winter, walks bu the sea, horse rides and beautiful sunsets. Of course you will be able to appreciate the beauty of southern of Chile.

    Aprender sobre la vida en el campo. Contacto directo con la naturaleza. Cómo hacer uso de los recursos de manera respuestuosa. ¡ Prometo compartir con ustedes todo lo que sé ! Aprenderás sobre gastronomía, incluida la local ; recolectar alimentos del mar , el bosque y la tierra . Puedes aprender a usar el hacha para cortar leña , construción, sobre animales y nuestra cultura e idioma . Pero no todo es trabajo... Incluye la estadía en casa de familia, conversaciones cerca de la estufa en invierno, paseos en la playa , a caballo , hermosos atardeceres , oír el bosque , navegar y especialmente conocer la belleza del sur de Chile.

  • Help


    I specially need help in gardening. Nature can be wild, but aesthetically it is very important for tourism, so we need to make fences, weed out and prun. We will always be doing some cleaning and building to repair the wood building. On the other hand, there are some activities related to selfsustainability, fruit harvest, elaboration of jam and greenhouse maintenance. We need to cut our own firewood. I also sell honey, my father is a beekeeper, for that reason I need help packaging honey and may be selling it. All the activities are done depending on the weather, season and your skills!
    Currently, I need you to help me with tourism, entretainment and gastronomy. You will enjoy everything, because you will be able to try different chilean food! You may also be able to know a penguin colony with tourists.
    There are not too many animals, however we must take care of a horse between other small animals. You ability to interact with children would be very appreciated, specially if you can share with them some knowledge. If you don't know Spanish, don't worry, I am sure that when you leave you will know more than when you arrived.
    It is very important for you to know that housework will be shared, which includes making bread!

    Especialmente jardinería, la Naturaleza puede ser salvaje pero la estética en turismo es importante por lo que necesitamos realizar cercados , desmalezar , podar . Siempre haremos tareas de limpieza y construcción para mejorar el centro de eventos . Por otro lado hay actividades que están relacionadas con el autosustento : recolección de frutas, elaboración de mermeladas, conservas ; mantención del huerto e invernadero . Debemos cortar nuestra propia leña. También me dedico a la venta de miel, mi padre es apicultor , por ello necesito ayuda para envasar, tal vez vender. Todas las actividades están reguladas según el clima , estación del año y ... ¡según tus capacidades !
    Actualmente necesito tu ayuda con visitantes de la granja y en actividades relacionadas con turismo , entretenimiento , gastronomía. Todo esto también lo disfrutarás pues degustarás de nuevas preparaciones y es posible navegues y conozcas una colonia de pinguinos con los demás turistas .
    No hay muchos animales pero ,cada día ,debemos cuidar de al menos un caballo y otros animales más pequeños .Tu capacidad para interactuar con niños será muy valorada , especialmente si puedes compartir algún tipo de conocimiento ellas lo disfrutarán mucho .Si no sabes español seguro sabrás mucho más que cuando llegaste .
    Es importante sepas que las actividades domesticas serán compartidas, eso incluye la elaboración de un excelente pan.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have guest room available at the family home . During summer, we recieve a bigger quantity of volunteers, so it is possible to sleep in wood building. We offer all necessary amenities in a rustic atmosphere : hot water , heating , library in English and Spanish . There is Phone signal (movistar) but internet is just available for an emergency.

    Contamos con una habitación de huéspedes, disponible en la casa familiar.Durante el verano recibimos mayor cantidad de voluntarios por lo que es posible dormir en una habitación disponible dentro del centro de eventos . Ofrecemos todas las comodidades indispensables en un ambiente rústico: agua caliente, calefacción, disponemos de biblioteca en inglés y español. Tenemos recepción de teléfono de la compañía movistar y el uso del internet es limitado.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My name is Esperanza. We live in a rural setting , 17 km from the city. Country family history , bought by my grandparents who came to colonize Chile and inherited my father who formed a hippie community in the 80 's.

    Public transport twice a day to go to the city, 1 km from the house although there are way up right there . We are about to bring their own vehicle. There are islands , mainly , to know about and goodwill and flexibility , to guide them so they can find locations nearby. We main interest is to accept couples. As for food we do not consume red meat practically (except special event like family barbecues ) but enough fish.
    We want the comfort of our guests so I emphasize flexibility and respect for people .

    Mi nombre es Esperanza. Vivimos en un entorno rural, a 17 km de la ciudad. Campo con historia familiar, comprado por mis abuelos quienes vinieron a colonizar a Chile y heredó mi padre ,quien formó una comunidad hippie en los 80's.

    Hay transporte público dos veces al día para ir a la ciudad, a 1 km aunque hay camino de acceso directo hasta la casa.Tengo vehiculo propio. Tenemos principal interés es aceptar parejas . En cuanto a alimentación :no consumimos prácticamente carnes rojas ( excepto evento especiales ) pero sí bastante pescado.
    Deseamos la comodidad de nuestros huéspedes por lo que hago hincapié en la flexibilidad y el respeto a las personas pero también esperamos iniciativa y gente realmente dispuesta a trabajar .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 377588725155