1 / 4

Come join us to keep the Mountain Mans legacy alive in BC, Canada

  • Favourited 650 times
  • Last activity: 31 Jan 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Greetings from Canada! For over 12 years we have been hosting volunteers from around the world with great experiences. So this is why we do not want to stop volunteering even though we now live on on the mountain with out our beloved "Mountain Man", my late husband Ulric.
    So now alone I want to say HI to everyone and welcome. If you are old or young, happy, or a out-of-the-box thinker or inspirational like me I'd love to meet you. I am a mature lady with a 78 years of age but vibrant young and enjoy my special golden years. I am still a foxy fashion nut, a nature lover, a motivator, a writer, a grandmother and a recent
    Widow.
    We were foster parent for over 38 years for high risk teens, we loved to travel around the world and when we retired 20 years ago we restarted our pioneer greenhorn project to build a beautiful mountain estate where I love to meet people from any nation to my home. I love to give and trade company and some help and support. Hosting and volunteering for me is to share and care, exploring together new horizontals, stretching our abilities conquering challenges by getting out of our comfort zone what creates liberation strengths and confidence. That is and was always our goal and mindset up here. For many including us, Canada is a dream of freedom space with wilderness completely untouched surrounded by splendid nature. All this is real up here on our Summit Estate, with Rolling Hills, views forever a feeling like you are the only one on top of the world.
    Both my late husband and myself were visionaries, self employed entrepreneurs all our lives. All though for sure a rocky journey, colorful, dramatic, always taking risks with successes, trials and errors..... never boring or dull.
    Our life stories I story’s share to continue to inspire. Like when we bought our 500 acres raw land and started to build wells, roads, and houses with lots of imaginations and creativity. All on our own with many helping hands that kept us young, productive and energetic. Now our property is unique, a one-of-a-kind a Fusion between natural materials of beams straw stucco mixed with a rustic and still elegant eccentric artistic style.
    Believe it or not, my husband and I volunteered over the years as well. Now Iclose the mountain in the winters and travel solo to places like central and south america.
    Feel free to find my profile as a workawayer as well to read more about who I am. I love to host, spoil people with food, deep honest conversations and laughter story. I have my two beautiful dogs, a cat and sometimes some mice that visit. There is a lot of wildlife around here as well.
    My propery manager, Russel, will teach anyone if needed. He needs special help with strong willing arms to help him with everything, especially fixing, renovating and light construction work. Also weeding and cleaning up around the building sites, general maintenance work inside and out.
    For myself, I would love to have someone with patience who would help me to be more confident on my laptop as I am hopeless with technology. I love to create and organize pictures in the mood of the property or dictate in the computer some of my new poetry.
    I have publish 11 books on Amazon under my name, Ghitta and I am determined to continue to be creative.
    On our property it is our hope and wish that you enjoy and create lasting good memories. We do have a few rules though, no fights, no swearing, no drunkenness, no stealing and no drugs... not even legalized marijuana. This is a place of peace, with the magic of nature trails to hike, sit and relax, reflect about self, life and your future.
    We are 30 minutes away from Osoyoos with the hottest climate and a beautiful lake, a country side of vineyards, fruits and outdoor fun.
    I can pick you up from the bus station In Osoyoos or in rock Creek. Volunteers are welcome for a short or long stay but we do ask for a minimum of two weeks.
    Volunteers are responsible o make their own breakfast with groceries that I will provide but I will provide all lunches and dinner. You will have a private room as well. In general we work from 9am to 1pm. The mountain is open every year from May 15th to October 15th. Please be reliable with your arriving times and dates as I keep the space open for you my daughter Tessina and grandkids. She will be the one answering all the messages because she is so much better at doing so.
    At last, I believe traveling and searching to find the unknown is a wonderful pathway. Follow your ambitions, creativity and secret dreams. All of this will enrich our mind and souls. Sometimes it is unpredictable and surprisingly good, or sometimes not so good but everything is worth it and has his own value because each step and moment will teach something special. So embrace life, it will mould who you are, mostly it will equip us with more wisdom, skills, passion, respect and compassion for each other what in itself are blessings we gain, so have fun on your travels and I enjoy to see you maybe one day. I welcome you all with the big smile, a hug and ensure you will be joining a good team.
    Warm Regards, Ghitta anf family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    "Over the years we ourselves have traveled a lot vising most of Central and South America and of course Europe before immigrating to Canada in 1979. Since we are both self employed and thought, we have loads of personal life experience
    to share, creating what you will see with us, on an "outside the box" concept and vision, a "never ending learning curve"
    Ulric, The Mountain Man

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for "out of the box free spirits", with strong arms, a happy heart and big smile and broad imaginations.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two beautiful rooms in our upper house. You will have access to your own summer living area with breathtaking views of the Cascade Mountain range and the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen.

    We are hoping for a minimum stay of a two-week stay. On Weekends you are free to explore the Okanagan Valley. We are happy to have our volunteers catch a ride with us to town when we go.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    "Felicitations and compliments for you, to finding our most unique mountaintop private lifestyle.
    The journey of life is a daily challenge, one day at the time we 100 % dream the dream, dare the dare and do the do". In memory of Ulric, The Mountain Man

    You are invited to live your dreams, ambitions and exploring new ideas, here in BC Canada with us, you will find answers.
    You can hike through quaint alpine meadows with forever mountain and valley views, away from it all, you have arrived
    You will be very surprised by the eclectic flair, cozy ambiance and decor of all we have created here, you will become part

    We are halfway between Osoyoos and Rock Creek, at an elevation of 1365 meters our 480 acre mountaintop nature reserve and beautiful family paradise

    Our alternate ECO straw bale design and construction concept and methods is a creative work in progress. To date many international working travelers, became part of our great vision. Off grid, with solar power only, recycled building components, every guest was fascinated about the cozy feel in our different buildings. The shared meals have allowed great conversations and friendships to develop. Do come and stay with us, as long you'd like, as well bring your friends.
    We will need many creative and willing hands to become part of our unusual project. As it stands, every day we all have learned something new, a never ending "Learning Curve" and have fun with "Murphy's Law" daily rules, challenges..


    Stunning photo documentations and memories are shared, you will love and appreciate the international flair and mix
    of our globe trotting traveling "addicts". 1 cute cat, 2 dogs will greet you.


    We love to hear and welcome you,
    Tessina (Ulric's Daughter) Ghitta (my mom and Ulric's beautiful wife) and In memory of Ulric, our Maintain Man

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week at 5 hours, all food provided

Host ref number: 29315829544b

Feedback (26)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)




























Looking for a volunteer who is interested in natural horsemanship and be a good rider in Okanagan Valley, Canada
A small farm in the Port Alberni Valley beneath the beautiful Beaufort Mountain Range - Vancouver Island, BC. Canada