Living a dream, stay and help in paradise Mano Juan, Dominican Republic

  • Dominican Republic
  • Favourited 157 times
  • Last activity: 25 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    The minimum stay is one month :)

    ¡Saludos amigos!

    I am Adam, 33 years old Poland born muchacho, who has been working in hospitality industry for 6 years, right now I am running a restaurant in the remote part of Saona Island also trying to help as much as possible people and animals here.

    The restaurant is part of our tour company which is run by Isidro (Dominican), Peter (Polish) and myself. The company is Isidro's baby project focusing on providing unique experience for tourists visiting Guaragua National Park as well as fishing village in Saona Island called Mano Juan.

    I am the one who will host you on the island but you will also meet Isidro and Peter on regular basis :)

    In our place there are 2 cats, 2-5dogs (they live pretty independent lives here) :P :P

    We employ in the restaurant three staff members:

    Albania - a head chef / full-time
    Alina - a sous Chef / full-time
    Wilmose - KP / part-time

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How you will benefit?

    You will have a chance to participate in bonfire events we organize on regular basis, as well as exploring island's night life together with the host :)

    - improve your Spanish language skills
    - learn about local fauna and flora
    - explore the best beaches and snorkeling spots
    - get to know real Dominicans and real way of living - close to people

    We hope to learn from you about your culture and language, get new perspective and together find new solutions to old issues.

  • Help


    We do need help mainly with some small jobs including:
    - water managing
    - painting, basic maintenance work
    - cleaning area in front and back of the restaurant
    - planting fruits and veggies

    - simple maintaince jobs like painting, polishing, digging.

    and social media areas:
    -taking care of the Instagram
    -recording basic viedos or taking simple shots
    -uploading stories profile

    but not exclusively. We are open for any other options you may have on your mind.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Persian (Farsi): Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’d love to improve my Russian, happy to teach all the other languages I know

  • Accommodation


    Basic Eco-styled bungalow.
    We provide basic Caribbean styled housing and two meals a day, normally breakfast and dinner - all Dominican styled, so you will have a chance to try the best pollo guisado, fresh Dorado, or Mano Juan variation of dumplings.

    It is important to note that there is no running water and electricity is sometimes off after sunset as we can use only solar panels and batteries sometimes don’t last as long ,as we had wished them for.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a few trails and absolutely stunning beaches.

    We offer free (priced normally at $120) tour including : Natural Pools with starfish, mangrove forest with turtles and, if you are lucky also manta rays, Mano Juan best hidden spots guided tour - all depends on the date of your arrival as the trips are organized in irregular way.

    Stargazing, bonfires, helping with turtles in a tortuga sanctuary

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is great internet connection through Claro network, we may have a stable home-like network in the future.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 374764873752

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help Surf and Kitesurf school in Las Terranas, the Dominican Republic
Helpers welcome at our hostel in Las Galeras, Dominican Republic