Welcomes to the Dayelsford Region, Central Highland Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 164 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, welcome to the beautiful Daylesford region! We are Jill and Phil. We relocated to the picturesque Ballan township 4 years ago from South Australia. In SA we were active hosts with volunteer exchange websites including Workaway for many years.
    Our 5 acre property has a lot of garden areas that constantly need clearing and tidying and we are currently finalising on a boutique, eclectic dining and accommodation project. We have many small projects in mind so your experiences can be matched with what we need. There is a menagerie of precious animals to look after and there will always be plenty to do. Sometimes even just a house and pet sit as we do go back to Adelaide a lot. (Not that we've been for a while now!). We have 6 chickens, 3 sheep, 3 goats, 1 alpaca, 2 Muscovy ducks, 3 guinea fowl, a cat (Misty) who rules the house and a new very active pup, Daisy.. who is trying to be number one and likes lots of walks!
    Ballan is well situated and close to transport in Western Victoria and there is a train directly to/from Melbourne. Close by (within 25 minutes) you have the vibrant and historic Victorian towns of Daylesford and Ballarat.
    You would enjoy your own space with a separate bedroom, and bathroom for your private use. We are a very sociable couple and would make you feel at home. I prepare all meals and I've been told I'm not a bad cook so you simply won't go hungry! I have two grand daughters that I look after from time to time so a bit of a hand with babysitting may come into play as well.
    We are very happy to get you out and about on days off to see some locals spots and meet other people. We ask for 4 hours a day which includes full board if you're a single visitor...... or 6 hours combined for a couple (3 hrs each a day). These hours don't have to be worked as outlined of course.......doing a full day and then some days off for sightseeing is absolutely fine by us. All we ask is you show some willing and initiative and love our animals as much as we do.
    We can assist with some local transport like running you to the stations or nearest bus stops if you don't have a car. In some cases we are happy to loan one of our cars to you. We look forward to hosting you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ballan is a super friendly country town and we are regular 'go outers' and very happy to take you along with us to meet yet more local aussies, visit local spots of interest, sample some wines and simply experience our relaxed lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardens, Vege patch maintenance, Animal care, Kitchen work, Odd jobs and some minor building projects

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will enjoy your own space with a separate bedroom, and bathroom for your private use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    In exchange for full board we expect 4 hours a day for a single & 6 (3 each) for a couple.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 372733951744