Help with gardening and farming in the Pemehue Valley, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 325 times
  • Last activity: 04/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Pemehue Valley is a mountainous, rural location in the Araucanía Region, south of Chile, stretching between the Malleco National Reserve and the Renaico River, distant 80 km from Collipulli, 700 km from Santiago. Still unknown and far beyond hustle, it is bound to be a quiet touristic destiny for trekking, photographing, wildlife observation and rest.

    Weather has a four-season pattern ranging from snowy short periods to hot summerly days.

    Monse (designer, gardener, silversmith) and Niccolo (engineer, communications, photographer, carpenter) have decided nine years ago to move from Santiago to Pemehue, build their house, workshops and make a living out of craft beer production, vegetable gardening and whatever can be raised from their land. Trying to live a sustainable life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Attending community meetings and activities will provide a vision of social needs and local culture; we are active participants in local organisations.

    Workwise, the duties to fulfil will provide understanding and practice on the specific tasks: wood construction, farming and beer production. We have been and are fairly good teachers.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Craft beer production involves pre and post cleansing, beer cooking, bottling, labelling, packaging; and sometimes, participating in beer festivales and fairs.

    Orchard care and farming; trail design and construction; general surveillance.

    Woodwork: we have a nice carpentry to do our own furniture and building needs.

    IMPORTANT STATEMENT:
    We try to comply with the "5 hours a day, 5 days a week" minimum request from volunteers although we ourselves usually work more hours and cannot stop for a weekend since life in the countryside demands constant attention: you cannot explain the dogs, the chicken, the plants not to get eating or water everyday. We will appreciate it if you are willing to help us longer but it is not compelling.

    Also, brewing is a process which demands at least eight hours of non-stop attention; when we cook beer —about four days on a month— we have to go through the whole process.

    We do not consider the house chores (cooking, dishing, keeping the house minimum clean, feeding the dogs and chicken) part of the work hours but as normal daily life tasks which we share with volunteers. This should be obvious but don't want to have misunderstandings.

    Spanish is helpful for an overall cultural experience but not necessary for specific tasks since Monse and Niccolo are fluent in English, Italian and some French. and we love to be helpful in teaching and share our most knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Presently the hosting will be at our house. There is a comfortable room and bathroom for visitors. Feeding is on a three basis meal: breakfast, lunch and dinner; cooking, dish washing and cleaning to be shared.

    One project is building an independent house for future collaborators.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a rustic therms 3 km from home; the nearest village, Amargo, is 25 km away. A local bus leaves 6:30 AM to Collipulli and returns 2:00 PM Monday-Friday. Trekking, mountain climbing, cycling, river bathing are the main local time out activities. Several peaks and volcanos are visible from the mountain tops. Trails lead to creeks and small lakes surrounded by Araucaria forests. Eco fishing, bird watching and, if lucky, meeting the puma.

    Depending on our work schedules, we could provide traveling to nearby cities and participation in beer festivals.

    Regarding covid, Pemehue is way out of the beaten track and Chile is one of the leading countries in vaccination; so our volunteers will be quite safe and free to move on an open wide space.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 855952464971

Feedback (12)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)


















Help out in a Bed and Breakfast in Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Join our community and help with native plant nursery and bioconstruction projects in Ovalle, Chile