Enjoy nature at our Tuscan farmhouse on the edge of mountain wilderness, Italy



Favourited 367 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please check dates below before contacting us, thank you! *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    We're not looking for any workers for the time being. Our next group will probably be around the end of February 2020. Please contact us once we have specific dates. Thanks!

    Murotto is a peaceful hamlet of 3 farmhouses in a forest above the small mountain village of Baggio, in northern Tuscany, 10km from Pistoia - a beautiful medieval city between Florence and Lucca. Murotto was abandoned after WWII and the houses, fields and orchards have been gradually restored by our family since the 1960s. We are off-road (except by 4wd) so there is a 10-min walk up a stone mule path.

    We live in two simple stone farmhouses and offer clean and comfortable bedrooms, wood-burning heating, hot water, wifi, linens/towels, laundry, healthy & delicious meals (vegan, gluten-free, veggie, meat-eaters all welcome!). English, Italian, Spanish, French and German spoken.

    We are Jethro and Olivia (late-50s). Jethro is a social scientist and ex-university teacher now working freelance, and Olivia is a writer and ex-school teacher, and teaches English. We are American, lived in the UK for many years, and have been coming to Murotto for 50+ years. We now live here year-round and offer one house for retreats, holidays and volunteers, sometimes joined by our 3 children (20s/30s), their partners, cousins, a grandchild and his two great-grandmothers.

    We're creating an organic permaculture homestead, and restoring the buildings and landscape for a sustainable future. We have chickens, bees, and a new puppy. Come help us manage our chestnut woods, fruit orchards, organic garden, fields, fences, walking trails, forest roads, farmhouses and outbuildings, all in a creative and fun way, with lots of inspiring things to work on!

    Come by car, bike, or train+local bus, or we'll meet you at Pistoia station.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Baggio is a traditional Tuscan mountain village (pop 100) with an active community association that runs a bar and pizza restaurant on Saturday evenings (except in winter), and a small museum dedicated to the villages's charcoal-making days. The village dates from 900 AD if not earlier, and our farm is on an ancient stone-paved pilgrimage route from Roman times. Local families tend their olive orchards, gardens and chickens, manage their chestnut woods for fuel and timber, collect mushrooms and hunt wild boar, in addition to their day jobs in nearby Pistoia. Volunteers can meet local families if they wish, and take part in community activities or go for walks through the farmland, olives and chestnut woods. We are the last inhabited house on this part of the mountain, and behind us is a vast forest wilderness with trails and forest roads leading up into the high Apennines, with well-marked hiking trails and endless wildlife... boar, deer, wolves, porcupines, badgers, birds of prey, insects and reptiles. Pistoia (12km away) is a charming, well-preserved medieval Tuscan city with historic churches, museums, bars, restaurants, shops and vibrant open markets, and was named Italy's Capital of Culture 2017.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We usually work about 25 hours a week (4-5 hrs per day from early morning to lunchtime)

    We prefer volunteers who can be here for 1-2 weeks, for intensive projects with a small group. See above for current hosting dates and projects, and contact us only if specific dates are listed. Longer-term volunteers may be considered if there is a good match of skills and seasonal work needed. Help us grow fruit and vegetables, mend fences and gates, make stone walls, clear brush, cut grass, cut and split firewood, share cooking and housework, and enjoy great food and wine!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private or shared bedroom, shared bath, linens and towels, warm and cozy house, shared living spaces with open fires and wood burning stoves, solar energy, wifi, laundry, delicious meals (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, meat eaters all welcome), good company and conversation. No TV or landline.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect volunteers to help out in the kitchen (cooking or washing up) in addition to volunteer time. You are free to relax around here or explore the area in your time off. Murotto is on the edge of a mountain wilderness perfect for adventurous walks or a dip in the secluded waterfall 20 mins away, or explore the village of Baggio and get to know our neighbours. There are Pizza evenings in the summer and you can volunteer in the community-run restaurant in exchange for an all you can eat meal at the end with the local volunteers. Just down the valley by bus is the beautiful medieval city of Pistoia (named as Italy's Capital of Culture for 2017), with spectacular churches, architecture, museums, markets, festivals and a trendy cafe and restaurant scene (frequented mainly by Italians escaping from the big tourist cities in Tuscany!) There are frequent train connections to Florence, Lucca and Pisa. Non-smokers only and no drugs please. Please contact us only if you are available for the dates mentioned in our profile.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours/day, 25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 371526742839