Join our family life south of Vienna, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four with two kids (born 2010 and 2011). Our daughter (the younger of our kids) has special needs with learning difficulties. The pandemic situation in 2020 helped us to learn that the learning support at school was not sufficient, so we changed to home schooling. We might need some support in teaching her (with special needs education plan).

    Alternatively or additionally we could need some house maintenance help doing some furniture construction or similar.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As Germans living in Austria we are quite active exploring our new environment - we do lots of excursions to musuems etc. in Vienna, but also to mountains and nature parks. Workawayers would be invited to join us in such trips. Also we love to exchange stories from our many travels and to exchange cultures. And of course our kids are lovely :-) Our home is 50km from Vienna, but well connected by train (approx. 30 minutes train ride, with frequent connections, the station is 20 minutes walk); the Alps are also in easy reach. It is also a good place to venture in some neighbouring countries like Hungary, Slovakia and Tchechia.

    If you have a personal eLearning project you want to do like to create some online learning content, I can coach you as I am a consultant for eLearning in development and humanitarian contexts.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Teaching:
    - doing school work with Miriam (as another face)
    - supervising home work

    Babysitting:
    - classical babysitting/ looking after children
    - take them to school/kindergarten or therapies
    - Exercise your German / their English

    Help in the house (just help with some normal house work like some cleaning, help with washing/ironing etc.)

    Alternatively / additionally we could need some occasional maintenance help (fix some furniture, do some painting, construct some things in the house, bycicle repair - nothing very complex). Some projects we have in mind in the near future: Building a raised garden bed, build a new bunk bed for the kids, fix some curtains from the ceiling and some other interior design ideas. Creative Ideas to improve our home are welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest room (which is normally our home office) you could use. You are invited to join us for meals. We are omnivors. You can join us in cooking meals, but ask you to keep the kitchen clean.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    as mentioned, Vienna is half hour train ride with frequent connections. Nice mountain environments are closeby, many things to do in spare time. We would not require massive work, but would like to ask you to help to keep our appartment clean and orderly. We are looking for nice and friendly people and are looking forward to a good exchange. We welcome non-smokers only.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wi-Fi Flatrate based on a fiber-optic connection

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 369487828188