Experience outback life on a remote cattle station- Western QLD, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family of 4 (Dave, Doll, Jock and Zoe) living on a beef cattle property out of Mungallala. 8 hours west of Brisbane with daily flights to Roma we are well connected and are surrounded by great people and many social activities/tourist destinations. Our place is just shy of 83,000 acres and we run approx 1500 beef cattle and have people employed to help with this.

    We muster by the air and motorbikes a few times a year and have many daily jobs on top of that. These jobs include feeding out dry supplements, molasses, checking bores and water points daily, fencing and general maintenance. Would love to share this wonderful opportunity with anyone interested in experiencing real outback Australia and be able to share in the magical part of the world that we live and choose to work in. We will always provide a welcoming friendly environment for visitors as well as very comfortable accommodation and all food.

    Thanks Doll

    P.S Please do not waste our time in not returning emails once contact has been made. We make plans around having work-awayers stay and if it is something that you feel may not be right for you then we really appreciate your honest communication as apposed to radio silence. General manners really :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are willing to make the travellers apart of our family/lives and intergrate them into our day to day work lives. We promise to make sure they would have a lot of fun.

    We live fairly social lives and would love to share these with travellers such as horse races, tennis days and BBQs.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    See above but basically helping with stock work, feeding animals, gardening, cooking and a little housework. Above all we want our visitors to get a real taste of bush living.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Willing to accommodate in the main house and have all meals supplied. If travellers prefer there is also another house that is basic in its furnishings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have full Telstra service at the house and wifi available. There are also many social activities that we would love to share with travellers such as horse races, tennis days and bbqs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 25 hours with 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 368519971519