Share permaculture knowledge and help with childcare in a cosy home in pretty rural Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    616

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello :)

    I am a single mum living in rural North East Scotland with my 1yo son. We live amongst the rolling hills in a 3 bedroom house on just under an acre of land an hour north west of Aberdeen and 10 mins drive to a smallish town. Nice to meet you!

    We like to spend our days roaming the land (in Scotland you can legally walk anywhere, as long as you leave the land as you found it), cooking, dancing whilst cooking, playing outdoors, yoga-ing, meditating (when I get a chance), listening to music and chilling out (ok I like chilling out and my son likes crawling around, getting up to mischief!). I have an interest in fungus and mushrooms (thanks to our fungus rich garden) and a background in fine art.

    I would love to learn a little bit about permaculture. I'm basically starting from having the most basic knowledge- I would like to do the PDC but it'd be hard for me, with the wee guy! So, baby steps! If you have some knowledge and skills and would be willing to share and demonstrate for an hour or so a day, plus some help with childcare and light housework (helping with dishes, sweeping the floor etc) that would be perfect! So that would be around 2-3 hours, 5 days a week in exchange for a room and (veggie or vegan) food.

    The other thing is, I can't drive (I'm learning). And we can't walk to anywhere but forests and fields from the house! If you can drive and have a car or even a bike that'd be a bonus if you want to explore the area beyond what's walkable.

    We also have some garage space so if there are any artists out there who would like to use their spare time for painting or maybe some sculptural work, we have some that would be suitable. I have a background in art too so I'd be interested to see another artists work!! Also musicians. Silence is nice but I also LOVE music!

    Time wise, I can be flexible. One week minimum, one month maximum.

    I think this post has been pretty practically oriented so far...I would like you to know that we like to have fun and joke around. I don't take life too seriously.

    So if you're a chilled and flexible person, with some knowledge of permaculture design, enjoy kids (he's super sweet and um, very energetic!!) and would like to experience summertime in Scotland, get in touch, this could be for you :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could enjoy the Scottish countryside, learn about Scottish culture, better your English language, have time and space to make artwork or music

  • Help

    Help

    Teach a novice some permaculture design (and demonstrate if it's practical) and help with childcare and light housework for 2/3 hours a day for 5 days a week.

    No smokers please and no one who wants to get totally drunk all the time- the occasional drink only please (I don't drink at all)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and pretty 'null' français

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with a desk, on a different floor to my son's room, so you'll get some peace during the night ;)

    Shared kitchen/diner, living room and bathroom with separate toilet.

    The house is a Victorian semi (my mum lives in the adjoining house) that is comfortable but not completely renovated to a high standard- it's a bit of a decorating hodge podge so far!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You could use the double garage for making art and/or music, you could take walks in the countryside, improve your English....it's not the most sociable place, but it's certainly a great place to relax!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2/3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 366929895781