Building, gardening and childcare with our family in the beautiful Byron Bay, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 387 times
  • Last activity: 30 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Beautiful Mexican inspired Villa, 10 mins drive from Byron Bay and amazing beaches. We are a local family that have been slowly building our dream home for the last 13 years.
    We are specifically looking for a couple someone handy with building and tools and gardening and also someone good with children.
    Having helpers for the past 12 years on our property has helped us to create our home and make our dreams become reality. We have 2 children 9 and 13 years old who are fun, loving adventurous kids who love meeting new people. We enjoy meeting new people from different cultures and working together on different projects. We appreciate all the help we get building and maintaining our home and property.
    We would also like someone who is able to drive, pick the kids up from activities, and also look after the kids a couple of evenings per week and do homework. Cooking would also be nice if you like it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had the pleasure of hosting people from all over the world. We work together with our helpers and enjoy lots of fun times together, especially in the kitchen sharing recipes. Being so close to Byron Bay beaches is always a plus. Surfing, beautiful walks and nature and visiting lical attractions like Byron Bay lighthouse or whale watching.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    If you have experience in building, gardening, cleaning and helping with children.
    Looking for a self-starter who takes initiative, ability to work together and independently. Respectful and tidy of communal and personal space. Enjoys time alone and can also slip in with the family routine and life. Helping out in the kitchen is a plus.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own newly built self contained room with kitchenette. It is separate from the main house. It has incredible views of the mountains. Use of full kitchen, toilet and shower facilities are separate in the shed building next door.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love our life and our home. We would love to share it with you. We enjoy setting tasks and achieving our goals. We appreciate all the support and help we have received and hope that you will enjoy being here too. Sometimes we like time alone and others we like to share time together. We eat predominantly vegetarian, and healthy food.
    The house is approx 15kms from Byron Bay center. We often drive into town and can offer lifts where possible. However if you are happy to occupy yourself, hanging out in nature, read a book, chill get the idea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 366799764845

Feedback (7)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.7)