Help with gardening and more in Bierum, Groningen, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple, my husband being greek and me dutch. After a lifetime in Greece, we settled in the northeast of the Netherlands, mostly because our children all live in the north of europe.
    Our village is small, just 650 inhabitants. It is very quiet and has a good social atmosphere. We are so happy to live here. We have a large garden at the back of the house and also one in front. We use have a piece of land closeby to grow vegetables.
    We have 8 cats and a dog living with us.
    There are bicycles you can use. The surroundings are rural, cows and sheep and agriculture. Walking and cycling from village to village is very pleasant.
    We also have a piano and a guitar, and we would appreciate some music.

    The village Bierum is 30 minutes from the city Groningen. The nearest trainstation is Appingedam. There is a bus between Appingedam and Bierum.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For most travellers it could be interesting how the agriculture is done in the Netherlands. Also the cycling is an experience. Seeing the way the traffic is organized. No traffic lights here.
    Every village around here has a church dated from 1200.

  • Help

    Help

    We moved here just 6 months ago, and there are some chores that need to be done. I would really love to get some help in order to get them done.
    The garage needs arranging and tidying.
    In the garden there is always tasks to be done.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am learning Turkish, Swahili and Hawaiian. We can teach you Greek and Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in our house. The bedrooms are upstairs and there is the attic.
    Once the beds are fixed, one can sleep in those. There will be 4 beds.
    One more bed is on the attic, and many more mattrasses.
    Breakfast and lunch you are free to take by yourself, dinner will be around 18.30.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many villages to cycle or to walk to, but there is also a bus to take you to Appingedam, which is an interesting small town. There is a lot of history to be found here.
    The nearest big university town is Groningen, which is a nice place. There is a train connection between Groningen and Appingedam.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There are spare rooms to sit and work in. The internet is reasonably good.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 365289763892