Come and help on a smallholding in the Alpujarras, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 206 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small permaculture farm where we grow a variety of vegetables, fruits and nuts for ourselves our vistors and to swap.We also grow many medicinal herbs and take care of a variety of trees including olives,almonds,figs,oranges and lemons.We keep chickens,ducks and goats,2 cats,one dog and a mule .We flood irrigate using an ancient acequia system,originating from the snows of the Sierra Nevada mountains. We also have an on going project of rebuilding the cortijo ( house) using traditional materials.The farm is part of the off grid unintentional community of Cigarrones nestling in a valley between the Sierra Nevada and the Contraviesa mountains near Orgiva, south of Granada Spain

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    people will learn about off grid living, permaculture,medicinal herbs,
    animal husbandry...

  • Help

    Help

    We always need help on the farm:weeding,planting,sowing ,harvesting and preserving.... In the winter we also harvest the olives (for oil),feed and prune the trees. We would also welcome help with restoring the cortijo (house) .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a caravan near to the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are part of a community and therefore plenty of opportunity to socialize with other people. The nearest town orgiva is 4km away.There are always people coming and going so its fairly easy to get a lift. The do it yourself culture thrives here and there is a lively alternative scene of theatre and music. The city of Granada is an hour and a half way by bus and there are plenty of good walks for those who like to use their feet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 361942667528