Help finishing our house, enjoy beautiful nature, native culture and discover the high altitude wineries in Cafayate, Argentina

Country

Argentina

Favourited 199 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    64  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a brazilian-argentinan couple , finally building our dream project. It is a house and some small rooms in a touristic village in northwest of Argentina.( Cafayate) This area have really nice landscapes and a very strong cultural heritage, from the natives. it is easily reachable from the main capital in the northwest(Salta), has a good infrastructure. The house is in a very green area and we intend to keep most of the trees as possible. We already have part of the house build, but we need help tp finish a few things, like eletricity, DIY things , furniture, finishing our "hammam" and a lot of garden work. When you contact us we can tell you what we are in need of.
    We have finished the hardest part, with a lot of help from the workawayers, and a great experiece.
    We live in a very quiet neighborhood, so it is not a place for noisy parties, but we do have fun sharing moments all togheter.If you are looking for a free bed and meal this is not the place for you.
    Fell welcome to contact us.
    Saludos!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be leaving with us, learning the latin american traditions. Also this is a place with a lot of native groups, with whom you can get in touch. You can learn diferent methods of building a house using low budget and respecting nature. If you like you can learn the local gastronomy...
    You will certainly learn or improve your castellano.

  • Help

    Help

    we need help to finish our house( we are already living in it), meaning you would need to do some hard work, but not just hard work. You can help us finishing our "hammam" space, covering the walls with natural river stones( wich we need to go to river to get them), make some furniture and taking care of the garden and prepare the veggie garden. It will depends on your skills and the priorities ofthemoment. When you contact us we can talk about your preferences and what are most in need at the moment. Sometimes we will need help in cleaning the small rooms where we receive some guests. The maitenence of the comun areas in the house is shared with us and it is not considered in working time. When we need a deep cleaning then you can do it as a day task, within you 5 hours activities. We ask for 4 to 5 hours of help, 5 days a week. It doesn't mean your 2 days off will be on weekends, depends on what day you arived and what kind of things you are doing. All of this we talk togheter and find the best solution for everybody. We are allways open to suggestions and changes as long as we talk about it.
    We hope you enjoy the things you do with us and also have a good time resting and discovering Cafayate.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    portugues, castellano, english, basic french and italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living in the same house we live now, sharing meals and the everyday life. You will have a good matress on the floor with some privicy. You have your own bathroom but it is outside the house. We can provide linen and towels for you. You can use the washingmachine to do your laundry. If you dont like our food you can cook your own, but we do like to cook togheter, meaning we are all togheter during the meals.
    We expecte that you behave as someone inviteded to our home. There might be cultural diferences on what that means so we will be leting you know if we see you have problems at understanding our culture. We all contribute to mantain the house clean and confortable to evevyone. We have wifi.. You can have a bike at your disposal. Our house is inside a private neighborhood 3 km from city center. It is a lovely and quite place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here is the second larger area of wineries of Argentina, famous for its Torrontes. You can visit the bodegas. You can go around nature, a lot of trekking. Meet the natives that still live in traditional ways or the people in the small town, with sincretic way of life. Some ruins of ancient Quilmes people is also nearby. Traditional pottery and textiles. Easy to reach by bus from the main cities. Get away to Bolivia or Atacama in Chile.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









































Host ref number: 361239572839